We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great desserts and staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Popovers On The Square

Popovers On The Square
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great desserts and staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Went for a late night dessert the night of the Christmas parade. Delicious desserts and the manager came over to our table to chat for awhile before he left his shift for the night. Very nice way to end our night.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LVYKBCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    179
    40
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
573 reviews
380 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“if you are a fan of popovers GO !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

What makes the popover special is the maple butter that comes with.
All the bakery items we tried were very good. This is order at the counter ,
seat yourself and clean up after yourself type place but that's a small price to pay.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ReddyBro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niantic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A gem in Pourtsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

What a pleasant morning we had enjoying breakfast at this establishment. We had a bad night at a local hotel, and needed to refresh for the ride home. Trip advisor to the rescue, and led us to this fine place. How can you go wrong with popovers and coffee? Throw in a nice egg, bacon, sausage, onion and pepper wrap with a fresh fruit cup and life is happy. We did splurge on 2 chocolate Clair's and a slice of strawberry cake to take home. Very good indeed. Although a bit pricey at $14 for the three items. Glad we hadn't spent all our money in Kittery. We will be back for more coffee and popovers the next time we are in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Todd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best casual cafe type place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

For a serve yourself place, I just love Popovers. The atmosphere is fresh and attractive. The food, although not inexpensive is generally always good. One of my favorties for a quick meal or snack in Portsmouth.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jackjrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Popovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a "go to place" in downtown Portsmouth. They have a diverse menu of brunch items, sandwiches and soups but the main attraction to me are the popovers, they are delicious!
We were there during our recent New Years trip to Portsmouth. I had the scrambled eggs in a popover on my first visit and it was fantastic! We stopped by the next day for another popover dish, I had the "mini popover fondue plate" that was even better! If you're in town and want a place to go for some quick, delicious comfort food, "Popovers" is the place!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Voyager5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Popovers On The Square also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Popovers On The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing