We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice warm cosy resuurtant by the river”

Black Trumpet Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #44 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A nice warm cosy resuurtant by the river”
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

After a long day at work in Portsmouth, and a walk in the freezing weather, you walk in the little 2 story bistro and you are inspired by the infusions.bthe tastes are only better.... Must try the Queen Scalops and tigatlle a taste from heaven

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank AhmedY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    71
    40
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockland, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Memorable!”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

It is rare to find the confluence of excellent wine, creative food, attentive service and sophisticated ambiance that we had two nights ago at this charming spot. We tasted broadly from the menu, from the shortribs to a cheese plate (for one of our party who arrived sans appetite) and everyone exclaimed on the quality of their choices, each of which was beautifully presented. Our waitress hit the right level of attentiveness and charm, and the wine list offered many intriguing choices. We were so charmed by the seaport atmosphere (beamed ceilings in a small space on a charming alley near the water) that we moved to the upstairs bar for a nightcap before walking back to out nearby hotel. There was no part of the experience that we would seek to improve, so the cost felt perfectly reasonable.

Helpful?
Thank JoyPartner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Impromptu Thursday Night Dining”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

OK, so tonight we walked into downtown Portsmouth for pizza; but, couldn't resist the magnitism of Black Trumpet.

Our fantastic evening of dining started out with the "White Gate Turkey and Bulghur Dumpling Soup with beluga lentil, cardoon and ginger". Without a doubt, one of the best soups we've ever had and oh how it hit the spot on this 17 degree New England evening!

Now, we're not vegetarians but our next course made us believers. "Jacketed Sweet Potato stuffed with lentil dal, served with spiced yogurt cheese, caramelized onion and pomegranate". We just couldn't believe how this vegetarian dish brought us such satisfaction as our main course. Thought we'd be missing the meat, not tonight.

Our thanks to all the folks at Black Trumpet for a five star evening. Can't wait to return. Cheers!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disapointed”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

We have visited this restaurant since the days of Blue Strawberry and Lindbergh’s Crossing and have found it to be charming, quaint and for the most part solid value. Our most recent visit was in a party of 6 and our server handled the rapidly changing orders with elan. I stayed with a selection of small and medium dishes which were delicious but the emphasis was on small. My better half opted for a special which left her wanting more and also suggesting that it could have been more tasty. We left with a feeling that we had missed a great meal but not quite sure where to pint the finger. We will probably return and see if this time we were just unlucky.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldT001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua NH
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Service Missed the Mark”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Hard to give a less than favorable review for Black Trumpet after having so many wonderful meals at this venue. Perhaps the problem was dining on a Saturday evening during Portsmouth's Restaurant Week. As expected, the place was packed, but we've had meals here at other times with a full house and had no food or service issues.

On this last visit, our food was overall good as expected with wonderful creative dishes, very generous portions (especially during Restaurant Week), but the service and pace from the kitchen were off. It was if the whole restaurant staff was stressed and that stress found it's way into the dining room and made for an unpleasant dining experience for us. Our waitress was unpleasant, and seemed annoyed to have to serve us. After a curt introduction, I stopped her and said "Good Evening", but it was awkward most of the night. In addition to the unhappy waitress, I couldn't count the number of times the hostess walked through the dining room to see how far people were along in their meals. Not that we were rushed, in fact some servers were apologizing for the delay in food delivery.

Having dined at Massimo and Cava so far this week for Restaurant Week, I'd say you might want to skip Black Trumpet this time around until they work the kinks out. Again, we've had many good meals here and have never had a bad experience before.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank surfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing