We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, good service, good atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Trumpet Bistro

Black Trumpet Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 199 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, good service, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our meals and were rather impressed with our waiter who knew his stuff. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NatashaWoolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    61
    37
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great Destination for an Important Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

On August 28th, we celebrated our 43rd Wedding Anniversary. In an effort to make this day as memorable as possible, I chose the Black Trumpet Bistro in Portsmouth. On Ceres Street, this was formerly the home of The Blue Strawberry and then Lindburgh's Landing, both exceptional restaurants in their time. Well, I am pleased to report that the Black Trumpet continues that history with a truly imaginative and enjoyable menu and wine list. Both my wife's special (very light and crispy duck) and my hanger steak were very well prepared and accompanied our Barolo well. We were quite pleased with the ambiance of the surroundings as well as the flavors merged to make an exceptional meal into an great memory.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GSD41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry England
Level Contributor
163 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Expensive and not as good as it thinks it is!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Having read many rave reviews in foodie magazines we were looking forward to our visit to the Black Trumpet Bistro. Many aspects were very good but when paying high prices expectations are also high. The atmosphere was very romantic in the subdued lighting and the waiter very attentive. The portions were not large and after a very average salad with little going on we proceeded to the entrees. My wife opted well and had the community fish which was presented well and tasty. However, the paella was very poor with little to no taste in it which it appears had to be compensated for by adding heat through a bland but spicy sausage and some chillies. Some classics do not need messing with and this was one I them. Chef you got this wrong!
Such a shame as the ambiance was good but the food did not deliver!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank simoncoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ft. lauderdale, florida
Level Contributor
128 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised with amazing food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Never being to Portsmouth New Hampshire before, we didn't expect to have a great food experience, but boy were we taken by surprise. The chef is brilliant and the servers and entire staff are very knowledgeable about what they serve and how it's prepared. Not many restaurants outside of San Francisco really get our attention. Bravo! And thank you for a delightful dinner and evening. The crispy kale and mushrooms were amazing and it just kept getting better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank flybysts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I visited this restaurant four times over a month while visiting Portsmouth for business. I loved it every time. The food is both inventive and delicious. I tried several things, but of note were the monkfish with black venus rice, the salad with apricot dressing and the chocolate mousse. They have a very good selection of wine by the glass - about 6 red and 6 white from different parts of the world. They'll let you taste the wine before you make a selection too - a very nice detail.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing