We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Menu”

Black Trumpet Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Black Trumpet Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Menu”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Place is not cheap and do not expect a burger and fries or fish n chips here. Staff is excellent and food is amazing we have been here about a half a dozen times with no problem. Expansive wine list great mixed drinks. Terrible beer selection other than that great views from the second floor. Service is on par with any upscale place in Boston. One of Portsmouth's Gems.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan200317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    38
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Went in with high expectations... They were surpassed!”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Let me start this by saying I came to the Black Trumpet with very high expectations. The restaurant had been recommended to me by one of the best chefs in NH, he said the food was top of the line. He was correct my Tri-Tip steak was cooked to perfection and the olive/garlic/olive oil app was excellent. The other person I was eating with got their burger and said it was the best they had every had. I had expected this because of the recommendation, but what I wasnt prepared for was the excellent wine list and incredible service! Arguably my favorite restaurant of all time!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Incredible evening!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The food here was incredible - creative and adventurous and the ingredients shine. We enjoyed every perfect bite - there were no missteps - that's not easy to do especially on a busy Saturday night. I'm always leery about trying a new restaurant on the weekend because of that factor but the Black Trumpet didn't disappoint. We were upstairs - it is tiny with the bar on one side and small tables set up by the windows. Brick walls, candlelight, copper topped tables - very cosy on a winter's night and I'm sure in the summer the views out the window would be lovely. It's a busy, tight area but we preferred this setting to a formal, stuffy restaurant. The waitstaff is friendly and very knowledgable. All in all a great night!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 22return
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Anniversary Celebration”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Our summer holiday to New England included our anniversary; in the very well stocked restaurant town of Portsmouth we found a gem here - lovely food, good service and nice ambiance.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidL68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Beautiful Atmosphere”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Big glasses of amazing wine! Paired with the most delicious duck I've tasted and I was hooked. I tried Black Trumpet during Restaurant Week so it was a better deal, but definitely take the chance (and the extra dollars) and splurge a little! Good food is worth the money in my mind. Great relaxed and romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Trumpet Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Black Trumpet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing