We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"New" Upstairs is Great and a great place for premiums wines by the glass.”
Review of Ristorante Massimo

Ristorante Massimo
Reserve with OpenTable
Ristorante Massimo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State Street
Seabrook, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“"New" Upstairs is Great and a great place for premiums wines by the glass.”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My wife and I recently returned to a Portsmouth favorite of ours, Massimo. As of last year, they now have an upstairs that is small plates and great wines. Our experience at the new to us upstairs was great, starting with the bartender. Great personality and very caring and he really paid attention. We like occasionally sitting at the bar and dining, the atmosphere and service was really nice.

We thoroughly enjoyed splitting the Tuna Tartar, Beet Salad and Mushroom Ravioli. Splitting the small plates are perfect for a light appetizer before we each had an entree of pork chop osco bucco. The quality of food was excellent, the preparation was perfect and the presentation was what you would expect in a gourmet restaurant. The little things made this place outstanding. For example, the beet salad we ordered one to split. The bartender communicated this to the kitchen and they artfully presented it to us on two separate plates. There was no issue at all with doing that.

They also have a wine preservation system that allows you to have some excellent wines by the glass. Premium wines ranged from 16 to 32 a glass and they also have a large selection of very good, 'non premium' wines by the glass.

The downstairs is still my choice for an elegant, special dining experience. For a really nice night out, with great food and wine a little more casual, try the upstairs.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank skisrxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    88
    31
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Foodies' delight!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Had a very good dinner of braised short rib, garlic mashed, perfect asparagus; others had the swordfish (excellent), & the veal chop (the "best" he'd ever had!!) with sauteed sliced fingerling potatoes. We all thought our dinners were beautifully seasoned, & much more interesting than they would've been in most restaurants. The restaurant is cozy, with beautiful wood paneling in some rooms. It was a very busy night (a Saturday), & they could offer only an 8pm reservation slot, which was ok. The place was packed, however, & very loud. Service was generally good, but a bit slow--perhaps due to the #s of diners vs. # of wait staff. Bill came to about $100/couple, which included a glass of wine each, an espresso each, & 1 cocktail. Would give 3 circles for the value, 3 for service, 4 for ambiance (even with the noise), & 4 for food (menu could be a bit more creatively Italian).

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jovi1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great job!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a seven course tasting meal that we bought through LivingSocial. Service was great and food arrived, was presented and tasted great. I'm not one to shy away from mentioning weaknesses. After all, that's what reviews are for, right? No weaknesses here.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steventish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Date Night Perfection!”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I had been wanting to go to Ristorante Massimo for the last couple of months - ever since I got an email describing it as one of the most romantic restaurants in the area. Now, I'm sorry I waited!! We had a 1/2 hour drive from where we live - it was easy to find, and when we got there, we used the complementary valet parking. Right from the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed by Massimo and his staff. We were seated at our table, which was (from what I could see), the most romantic and cozy table in the place!! We ordered the meatball appetizer, which was so good that my husband said that it reminded him of his grandmother's meatballs! I ordered the pork tenderloin and he got the filet dish - both were cooked to perfection and absolutely delicious! We chose the carrot cake for dessert - it was so tasty and a perfect ending to our meal. Also, the service was absolutely wonderful! We will definitely be back!! Thank you so much for a great date night!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Magen1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Atmosphere and Great Food”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is one the best fine dining restaurants ever. Sumptuous decor (white tablecloth, low lights, candles, dressed up waitstaff) and great Italian themed food.Good wine list. Go for special occasion and be pampered.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Massimo also viewed

 

Been to Ristorante Massimo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing