We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good hotel for a family”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Overall good hotel for a family”
Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed at the Homewood Suites on an overnight trip with our 2-year-old. We booked a studio suite and were happy with the size of the room. It was very clean and seems to have been renovated not so long ago. The breakfast, which others have complained about, was just fine.
We did have two (small) problems with the hotel. 1) Our room had no tub, just a shower. When traveling with a toddler, this is an inconvenience. 2) The walls in the room were rather thin. I could hear snoring coming from the room next to us in the middle of the night.
Neither one of these things would be enough to stop me from staying here again. It was a perfectly reasonable place to spend a night.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aradd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    196
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
347
226
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dedham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We love this place, it's great stay with the kids the one bedroom suites, you have a private bedroom and a livingroom, kitchen and good size bath. Love the free breakfast and the people are friendly and helpful. The best thing is the free shuttle service and your so close to downtown. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apgentile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

Rooms are great, hotel is clean, but the breakfast is absolutely disgusting. Stayed 2 nights. First day, at least the bacon was decent, but the eggs were cold foamy hockey pucks and seemed to be made of neoprene, not eggs. Juices from the machine tasted soapy. Service was poor, and the lazy guy running the place was not cleaning anything up. 2nd day, no bacon but instead they had these disgusting sausages which were also cold and tasted like something rotten. Juice was still soapy. At least they had toast. I have stayed at several other Homewoods where bfast was excellent. Talked about it to front desk, but didn't get the impression they were going to do anything about it. Think next time I'll stay at te courtyard. Rooms are not as nice, but at least you can buy a real deent bfast.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idriveapilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
I apologize for your dissatisfaction with the service you received during your stay and the issues you experienced with our breakfast. I want you to know that this is not typical of the service we provide here at the Homewood Suites. We are working with our staff to ensure that other guests do not experience the same issues during their stay. I appreciate your feedback as this helps us continually improve. Thank you for your business and we hope you try us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Beth Curry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
411 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

I have to agree with MrGirt in the August 2010 review of this hotel. It was one of the worst breakfasts I have ever had at a Homewood Suites or Residence Inn. First the guy running the breakfast was a bit rude and obviously was only there to do the basics and that was it. We stayed over a weekend and came down for breakfast the first morning at 8:00 am. Barely anyone in the breakfast room and there barely any food out. I am not even going to go into detail because there wasn't any one specific food that was not prepackaged. And still he screwed it up. When one of our kids jokingly made a statement about having no donuts the guy said "What do you expect, its free."

The next morning we went back down around 8am again and looked at the breakfast... we decided to go to IHOP.

Other than that the rugs are worn in the halls, the walls are paper thing, and the water in the pool was ice cold. Also, no hot tub. We had a non smoking room but the bed linen smelled like an ashtray and the room was musty. We asked to be moved but were told they were sold out.

We are going back to the Residence Inn on Pease next time. At least they appreciates our business.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hawaiiantraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, September 28, 2010
Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. I apologize for not meeting your expectations and have addressed the issues with our breakfast staff. We take comments and suggestions from our guests very seriously as they help us make improvement to future experiences. I assure you, your next visit will be a positive one. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Beth Curry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2010

My wife and two teenage boys stayed for two nights during seafood fest. in a beautiful two bedroom suite with 3 tv's and a kitchen which the boy's loved. The beds were so comfortable and clean. Rachel at the front desk was very pleasnt and knowledgeable we loved talking to her. She gave us the best recomdations for the boy's and gave us free tickets to a band at a local club. With a free shuttle to downtown was great not to worry about parking we called for a pick up and he was there in 5 min. The housekeepind staff came in while we were at the great breakfast buffet with the best scrambled eggs and waffles when we came back the room was cleaned and a wonderful note from the housekeeper. Dont stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwoman05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro,MA
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed there for four days. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The location was close to highways for day trips to outlets and beaches. Breakfast was good. We definitely will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livefree62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

One of our worst hotel breakfasts ever. The person “serving” (or acting as if he were serving) was a grouch. I was standing there surveying what food was available, and he stared at me as if I were a shoplifter. His other game was to hide all the plates. When someone asked him for a plate, he simply whined that he was doing the best he could. Then he would slowly shuffle out with another 5 or 6 plates. He should have done his job of setting out enough plates and replenishing food rather than stand around and stare. The quality, quantity and variety of food was fair to mediocre (less appealing than a McDonalds breakfast) with no fresh fruit except apples and bananas. Finally, we found it ridiculous that breakfast ends at 9 am (with food being taken away starting at 8:45 am). We were on a leisurely vacation trip, not a business trip.

While we were very happy with everything else at the hotel, the terrible breakfast over-shadowed everything. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, August 13, 2010
I would like to apologize for your dissatisfaction with the service you received during your stay and the issues you experienced with our breakfast. This is not typical of the service we provide here at the Homewood Suites and we are working with our team to ensure that other guests do not experience the same issues during their stay.

It is our goal to make your visit a pleasant one which meets your expectations. I am sorry that this experience did not turn out as expected. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the near future. Please feel free to call when returning to Portsmouth and I will personally take care of your reservations and ensure that your stay lives up to your expectations. Thank you for your understanding and feedback, we hope to see you again soon. If you have any questions, please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Regards,
Beth Curry, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Portsmouth Homewood Suites
Portsmouth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing