We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frequent Portsmouth Visitors Love This Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
298 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Frequent Portsmouth Visitors Love This Hotel”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We have stayed at many hotels, motels, and B&Bs in the Portsmouth area over the years. This was our first time at Homewood Suites. Knowing that our business would be taking us to many places nearby, we selected it because of its convenient location near the interstate. We had a king suite and everything was clean, comfortable, spacious, and as it should be. We didn't eat any breakfasts in the hotel, as our favorite breakfast spot, Cafe Espresso, is nearby. We will definitely stay here again. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers, couples, and families. If you want to be only in downtown Portsmouth, there are better options, but if convenience, comfort, and ease of moving around the area are priorities, this hotel is a great choice.

Room Tip: upper floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merlinslap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience. We're pleased to hear that our convenient location and comfortable and spacious accommodations have earned us your recommendation to the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate your feedback and hope to host your next visit to lovely Portsmouth.

Best,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    193
    60
    17
    11
See reviews for
341
224
21
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Riverview, Florida
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

If there were a word beyond excellent I would give it to this hotel. I booked this hotel because it is not far from Seabrook where my husband was working for a couple weeks. The property is set back away from the main road, so it is quiet. The suite we stayed in was a one bedroom which had a kitchen area (full size refrigerator and dishwasher!), beautiful living room, and a door on the bedroom for privacy. It had a stove and microwave too. No oven. The room was spacious and immaculately kept. Every employee we encountered at this hotel was friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Amber for being so accommodating to our needs. The hotel serves breakfast to all guest each morning and on Monday through Thursday, they also serve dinner. They have a schedule in each room letting you know what is on the menu for dinner. There is always one main entrée, vegetable, potato, and salad bar. It was so convenient not having to cook! The food was very good. I am not talking gourmet food, but I am talking about tasty and fresh food. Beats cooking on your own and you cannot beat the price of free! As a bonus, each guest is offered two glasses of complimentary wine or beer. Excellent hospitality! There is a lounge area that serves coffee 24/7. There is no restaurant or bar on the premises, but within a half mile, there are plenty of them. We drove to Applebees one night for dinner. There was Ruby Tuesdays nearby also. There is a Shaws and a Market Basket within a half mile. The hotel will wash clothes for you for a fee, but we went to the Laundromat (less than half mile) called Amo's Wash 'N Dry. I must say that I never saw such a clean Laundromat! The day we were there Kelly was working and she was very helpful. There is also gas stations, Marshalls, Home Goods, Petco and a vet in the same area.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the a/c and heat worked great. There is a nice area in the courtyard for guests to sit and I believe I saw grills for cooking there too.

There was only one thing I wished for that they did not have and that is more channels on the television. The channel selection does include Showtime, but is otherwise rather limited to 40 channels.

I would highly recommend this hotel for an extended stay. I brought my two small dogs with me (this is a pet friendly hotel) and it worked out perfectly. There is plenty of room to walk outside. Thank you to the management of this hotel. Your staff deserves kudos for going above and beyond in the customer service area. I will definitely be returning to this hotel when next in the Portsmouth area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Deborah,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience. We're happy to hear that you had an excellent stay with us and that we were able to accommodate your needs during your visit to Portsmouth. We value your recommendation and if you're back in Portsmouth again, we hope that you'll make us your home away from home.

Sincerely,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pomfret, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2014

From the shuttle driver to the front desk personnel, an overall great experience!! When asking about local places to eat and visit the girl at the front desk took the time to print out directions and help make a list of place to go. Only quam was the first morning the complimentary breakfast was not very good, but the second morning it was much better!! Either way you can make your own waffles, which is always good!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Matt,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're pleased to hear that our staff's hospitality made the difference in your visit. We appreciate your recommendation to the travel community and look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous room, full size fridge in a beautiful kitchen, with a dishwasher, seperate room sitting area with its own tv, lovely large bathroom! Can't say enough about this hotel and the price included free breakfast! Definitely going back, and spreading the word. Thank you Hilton!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MishaVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for recommending our hotel to the travel community with a 5-star review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to host you again soon. Thanks for spreading the word!

Best,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed at this property for one night during a family vacation, passing through from Massachusetts to the beaches of southeastern Maine. There was nothing particularly special about this Homewood, and its flaws offset its virtues.

The suite was, as one would expect, relatively spacious. Our stay was brief but it was nice to have a refrigerator and to spread our things out a bit rather than have them all crowded into a single room. The bedding and bedroom were mostly clean and well-attended. It was a bit disappointing to find a prior guest's pair of socks beneath one of the beds, just inside the bed skirt. We'd like to think the cleaning staff would catch something like that. If a pair of socks isn't noticed, then something worse (think something substantially worse than socks) wouldn't be noticed either. But this wasn't a huge deal in the scheme of things.

The kids made use of the pool, and the pool and surrounding area were clean and nicely maintained. The lobby, hallways and other common areas likewise were in good shape.

The thermostat and larger heating/cooling system in our room was the big problem with our stay. Despite the fact that we had it on the heat setting at 70 degrees, the fan clicked on many times throughout the night and blew very cold air irrespective of the fact that it was definitely not more than 70 degrees in the room. It was cold outside - near freezing - and nothing in our room was generating any heat to speak of. Fussing with the thermostat, switching it off, re-setting it to make sure it was on "heat," etc. yielded no fix to the problem. I would have simply turned it off and left it off, no air whatsoever being better than a continuing flow of cold air, but I was too deeply asleep after a while and the wife decided against any further tinkering. She was sleeping closest to the unit and wasn't only puzzled but cold much of the night, which was frustrating.

The young man working in the breakfast area the next morning was extremely friendly and clearly working hard, but the food was below average. The couple of hot foods weren't exactly hot and weren't very good besides. Worse, the utensils were mostly dirty and it took some effort to find clean ones. We don't expect much of such breakfasts in the first place, but this was still a mild letdown on our way out the door.

On balance, it wasn't a terrible experience but it wasn't anything more than average either. We'd likely try another place if we found ourselves in the Portsmouth area again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing valuable feedback. I sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience that you had during your visit to our property. I have shared your comments with our maintenance, housekeeping, and breakfast staffs and to ensure that the failures you experienced will not be repeated. I hope you will accept my apology and give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent stay.

Sincerely,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I stayed here with a group of friends on a night out in Portsmouth, and it was a great decision! Our suite comfortably slept 6, there was a lot living/dining space, and the kitchen was very useful. We used the hotel's shuttle to take the short drive downtown and then took a taxi back for a small fare. (Just $11+tip for 6 people!) The front desk was very helpful to us in planning our night. Great stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lynsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Lyndsey,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you took advantage of our convenient location to explore beautiful Portsmouth. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to host you and your friends again soon.

Best,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We traveled to Portsmouth for a concert at The Music Hall (that was an awesome place, also). We thought we would look into hotels as we were coming from 150 miles away. I did not think our family of 6 would find all that was offered to be in our price range....we were pleasantly mistaken! The room /suite was plenty large enough so we did not feel cramped at all. The room was very clean and had all we needed. The dinner and breakfast were ample and were definitely a plus as we are a family of 6 and eating out could almost cost as much as a nights' stay in and of itself. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Besides all of this- hello shuttle service! Being unfamiliar with downtown Portsmouth on a chilly spring night with small children, the shuttle was invaluable, prompt and the driver friendly. Plus, the children thought it pretty neat, too. Do not hesitate to stay here. We are already trying to think of excuses to come back again ;).
Thank you for making such a special family mini-vacation possible!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MamaHawk004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor.We're happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by the quality and affordability of our accommodations and that we were able to help make your family vacation a memorable one. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to host you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,
Joshua Smith, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Portsmouth Homewood Suites
Portsmouth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing