We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“slightly out of town, but overall great value hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“slightly out of town, but overall great value hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

great hotel for families, well equipped suites and supermarket near by. slightly out of town so a wee bit quieter (positive comment) but convenient shuttle service into Portsmouth. breakfast great and managers reception a bonus. parking great. all in all a good value family hotel choice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding our management team and associates! When you stay with us we like to make sure you get the best service and attention deserved. I am glad to hear that we followed up on issues experienced and resolved them before departing. Our goal is your satisfaction! I hope you will come back with us again so we may provide excellent service and amenities to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    189
    60
    17
    11
See reviews for
334
215
21
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clementon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
192 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Higher priced than some others, but you get more.
We arrived before check in time and the manager did his best to get us another room that was ready, since ours wasn't yet.
Female counter clerk didn't seem too interested in helping, but when the manager saw two couples sitting in the lobby, he took over and solved the problem.
I spoke to the day time manager when leaving, as he was standing in the lobby asking if everything was ok with our stay. I told him about two minor problems with the room. Within a few days I received an email from him thanking me for bringing the issues to his attention.
Great location away from the downtown.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Northport, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Just stayed here this past weekend, for a short trip to visit family friends. There were 4 of us staying and we got the one bedroom suite, with living room and kitchen. It was perfect for our needs. We were able to relax and visit with friends while heating up dinner one night and ordering in another. There is also a very nice breakfast served daily for guests. Every morning had a different main dish, along with daily staples like waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, and cereal. It was also nice to use the pool after a long hot day of exploring. They also have a complimentary shuttle to downtown which was really nice. We didn't have to hassle with traffic and parking downtown! The only complaints are that the extra roll-away bed was very hard and uncomfortable as well as the couch bed in the living room. The king bed however was very comfortable, so if you don't need a roll-away, it prob wouldn't matter. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: One bedroom was great for our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerryMary08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a great hotel with a very helpful staff. Everyone in the family enjoyed the stay (including the 6 year old, the teenagers, and adults) The suite was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good and staying at this hotel was a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Melinda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I am glad that our staff, cleanliness, breakfast, and other areas of our hotel met your needs. I hope you will come back with us again. Enjoy the rest of your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield,PA, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

A very pleasant stay with our family. We especially liked the availability of the shuttle into town. We used this on a few occasions when we went to see the play and the movie in Prescott Park, we had a ride to town and didn't have to worry about parking, and the driver met us when we were ready to return. We also enjoyed the ample breakfast provided.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

We love coming here! Hotel staff is very accommodating! Rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast area was a bit crowded when we arrived but didn't have to wait too long for a table. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Homewood Suites by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Jackie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for three nights in July. Originally, we had wanted to stay in town but the prices were a tad higher than what we wanted to pay especially given the extra charges like parking, etc. So, we decided on the Homewood and were very happy with our decision.

It is not a luxury hotel by any means but it is clean and comfortable and has all the amenities you need. The room we had was, indeed, larger than our apartment in NYC!! We cooked dinner one night and delighted in the fact that we didn't have to wash any dishes by hand since there was a dishwasher!! (Ahhh- the little things in life that make us happy!)

The only downside was maybe the dinner we had the first night-- burgers, cajun potato wedges and salad. I was surprised that there were no vegetarian options. I feel like pasta should be an option for non-meat eaters. Breakfast, however, was much better with many more options.

In the end, I am very happy with our choice and would return again without any reservations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joshua S, General Manager at Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words! I am glad that are accommodations were spacious for you. I am happy to hear that our location was ideal for your travels! I understand that healthy options are important to guests such as yourself for dinner as they should be. We are working to improve our menu with healithier options and sides with or main dishes. Please let me know if you come visit us again and I would be more than happy let you know what we are serving during that time as well as make sure that we have some healthier options for you. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.6 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
1.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton
Portsmouth Homewood Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing