We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Choice~Staff Is Excellent~Yummy Food~Beautiful Suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Choice~Staff Is Excellent~Yummy Food~Beautiful Suite”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stopped here from our way home from Maine. We enjoy walking the town of Portsmouth and this is a fine location to do that. Off of exit 7 in NH (two right turns) we checked in at 4pm. The hotel offesr free shuttle service to town, but we decided to drive, which was an easy trip. Our room was a wonderful suite, and they offered free dinner for guests with two drinks. We normally would not partake, but the salad and cheese stuffed shells looked yummy, so we had dinner at the hotel. This was quite a savings. I appreciate that they offered a non meat entree, since we do not eat meat. Portsmouth is a lovely town, so make sure you take the time to visit and have dessert/coffee there and window shop. Kittery outlets are also close by for you shoppers reading this.
The room was lovely and the bed was comfy. Quite area also. The breakfast the next morning was also nice. I can't say enough about the staff that always smiled and were so helpful, making you feel at home. We will return and hope to stay two nights next time.

Room Tip: You can check in on line first and pick your own room and floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeeourUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    196
    60
    17
    12
See reviews for
347
226
21
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just a helpful note for those who may be smokers. Although it is possible to make a reservation at this property for a smoking room - I did, for this coming October - I have since found out that the entire facility is non-smoking. Thus, I am forced to search out another hotel within one week of my trip after having made the reservation there. I make no comment on any other part of the place; it may be wonderful.

I don't understand that sort of disconnect between reservations and other parts of the facility. How can you advertise a smoking room at a non-smoking facility? Amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel with a good location. Hotel seems hidden, but food and shopping are just around the corner. Sightseeing is a must in this quaint New England town. Easy access to Kittery, Me for outlets and the service is great. Hotel staff were very friendly and attentive. Breakfast is served every morning, but the room has a full kitchen, so you can also make your own if you prefer. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Me, my husband, three children (3 under the age of 3), and grandmother stayed here for one night on the way to Maine and another night on the way back from Maine. We booked a one-bedroom suite. We would definitely stay here again for our trips to/from Maine.

--Staff was friendly
--For a breakfast included in the rate, the breakfast selection was varied and good. Our kids wake up early so we were usually down at breakfast by 7:30 a.m. and it was never crowded. Breakfast is my favorite meal of the day and I was not disappointed by the selections.
--We took a peek at the free dinner one night and decided to skip it. The menu was for burgers and tater tots or something along those lines. The food looked anemic and unappetizing.
--Check-in and check-out was the easiest ever.
--The pool was great and the kids loved it. We were in there each evening of our stay and it was never crowded. However, there were no towels left in the pool area so we went over to the gym next door to grab some.
--The kitchen was clean, modern, and well-appointed with utensils, pots, plates, etc. Loved the full-size fridge.
--Parking was abundant and we never had problems locating some random side or back entrance to get in.
--Very clean!
--We saw lots and lots of other families with children.

This was our first Homewood Suites stay and we loved it. As stated in my title, this is a perfect place for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santokkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here one night on business. Large room with windows that open, excellent service, and wonderful amenities, including a manager's reception with food, beer, and wine. I called ahead to ask for a quiet room and that's what I received. Didn't here a sound inside or out and the hotel was full. No problem with parking after returning from a late night dinner. An excellent choice for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: For quiet, choose a floor on a top floor overlooking the woods in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed only 1 night on our way up to Maine and were pleased overall. The room fit our needs more than enough and the hotel staff were very courteous. Because of where/how the hotel was built, however, parking was a little odd. There were multiple entrances to the building, as usual, but no rear parking and if you didn't get a spot in front of the building, you were in for some walking. That made it a little inconvenient if you had a high floor, away from the elevators and had to lug suit cases, coolers, etc. into your room. Because there doesn't seem to be much the hotel can do about that, I'm not going to knock them too heavily on it. It's just poor property planning at time of construction. That, and the fact that the breakfast was a little light on substance are the only reasons I rated it a 4/5.

Room Tip: You'll hear any parties above you, so choose a high floor if you don't like foot noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Homewood Suites are a known entity - so the booking was fast & easy. The hotel is tucked away in a pretty wooded area, yet close to downtown Portsmouth. The proximity to town and their free van service to the center of town made for an easy day of shopping. Portsmouth is a quaint water front historic city with great restaurants and sightseeing.

Room Tip: Book early as this is a popular little city!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Groovybead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
1.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
469 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Address: 100 Portsmouth Blvd, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3178
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new all suite property. Free internet access. Flat screen televisions in every room. Complimentary breakfast all week. Complimentary light dinner Monday-Thursday. Swimming pool and fitness area. 625 foot meeting room. Business center. 2 minute drive to downtown Portsmouth. 5 minute drive to Pease Tradeport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Homewood Suites Portsmouth
Hilton Portsmouth
Homewood Portsmouth
Portsmouth Homewood Suites
Portsmouth Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing