We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast food, cozy atmosphere”

Colby's Breakfast & Lunch
Ranked #7 of 178 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Reviewed February 10, 2020

I skipped the generic hotel breakfast and instead walked over to Colby's while in Portsmouth on business. I had heard that it gets crowded early, so I arrived just before opening and was able to get a table right away. Turns out it was the best decision I made that day. Good stuff. I went back a week later, and same thing. Credit to the staff- creative menu choices and expedient service.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 1lap2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 450 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2020

I THINK THE WORD GEM SAYS IT ALL.... Wonderful service and great food, truly a GEM.... Must try the fresh baked cinnamon toast

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wintermoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

I have been going to this restaurant through at least three incarnations. The atmosphere has not changed at all. To some extent, the menu hasn't changed much either. But, why mess with success? The locals enjoy the food. The menu is so varied that there is virtually something for every taste. If the weather is good, sit in one of the four tables outside in the tiny courtyard.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank Vivere731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

the place lives up to its hype, lovely small cafe with excellent breakfast menu, and not very expensive

Date of visit: January 2020
2  Thank Lalchhanhima R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2019

Quaint and small. Loved that they provided coffee outside while people waited. Biggest SINGLE pancake I've ever seen!! Great food and our server was really nice!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CoachJTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby's Breakfast & Lunch also viewed

 

Been to Colby's Breakfast & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.