We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but slightly overrated”

Colby's Breakfast & Lunch
Ranked #13 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
168 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Nice but slightly overrated”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was told that Colby's was THE place for foodies to enjoy breakfast. And while I think it was very good -- and the coffee and the service and the setting were all excellent -- I wouldn't go haywire over the place! It's very nice, don't get me wrong. And there's a nice menu and everyone seemed very happy with their dishes. Very good place. Just NOT superlative. And if you're a foodie and are looking for something REALLY over the moon I suspect this is going to come up a bit -- but just a bit -- short.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    89
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fast & Fresh”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Good little breakfast place with at home atmosphere. Beware the poor parking in downtown Portsmouth, some meters are 15 minutes they charge you to park everywhere so budget an extra $2 for the City with your breakfast.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank FreddyBeach313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best seasoned home fries!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Inexpensive specials, bottomless coffee, vegetarian options, and well executed breakfast standards were great, but you want to arrive before 10am to avoid a long wait.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank HoneymoonBC2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Colby's was fairly busy on both (weekday) mornings I ate there. It was a perfect place to start the day, and reasonably priced, too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank KristinIthaca_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white plains
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I went to Colbys for breakfast on a Sunday-the wait was too long so we came back on Monday. It was still crowded but was seated promptly. Now I know why there is a wait. Very good breakfast. The place is small but has HUGE flavor. I ordered corned beef benedict and my husband had an omelet. We also ordered 1 blueberry pancake!!! The pancake was HUGE and omg soooooo good. Covered with butter and powdered sugar and filled with alot of fresh blueberries. My benedict was delicious and corned beef hash was homemade. The husband loved his omelet which came with homemade bread!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank onassis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby's Breakfast & Lunch also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Colby's Breakfast & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing