We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Wait, But Worth It”

Colby's Breakfast & Lunch
Ranked #13 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Long Wait, But Worth It”
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The breakfast is delicious and unique, but you can tell how popular this place is from the wait. However, the restaurant staff takes pity on its freezing patrons (we visited in January), and has a table with hot coffee, sugar, and cream outside.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank dustpan_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    89
    18
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Unique breakfast”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is a great little breakfast place -- in fact it's so good, you really want to get there early on the weekend in order to get a table. In the summer it's nice to sit outside in the tiny courtyard. The servers are cheery, the atmosphere is unrushed, and the food is always delicious. I am especially fond of the reuben omelet which is huge and delicious. This is a non fussy place. It's not sparkling clean, but that aside, they do a good job.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value + good service.”
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Colby's is a tiny little spot with the entrance a short way down a very narrow space between two buildings. I don't know if it classifies as an alley but I had to close my umbrella to walk down it. The restaurant is kind of funky in the sense of being eclectic but also funky like it could use a really good cleaning. Oh, well. The service was great, the coffee was strong, and I received a heaping plate of good food. My bill was under $10. What more could you ask for?

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Find another breakfast spot”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

It was a busy morning, but after we put in our names and waited 1/2 hour, we were rudely told by the man behind the desk that he had "lost control of the list and we would be seated within 1/2 to 3/4 of an hour." I said we had already waited, he acknowledged that and said it was too busy and too bad. We anticipated some people finishing and were next in line, at which point he seated the people behind us claiming he couldn't waste a table for 4 on 2, but he saw another table - for 2 - finishing shortly. We had waited so long, we decided to stay.
We ordered what people on trip advisor recommended, Irish Eggs (hash benedict) and heuvos. Neither was outstanding. The hash was finely ground and the english muffin underneath, barely cooked added nothing - a detractor. The huevos was nothing to write home about, we've had better. We couldn't get refills on coffee, our check was delivered half way through our meal.
The guy at the door should be fired, and they need more help. Because of the atttude and service alone, I would not return. Go to Friendly Toast, - early - or the Bean in Newmarket. Both MUCH better food and more pleasant people.
Jan Williams

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank janiceawilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed October 20, 2011

I was in the mood for breakfast fare, so I stopped in at Colby's. As soon as I walked in I was seated at one of the tables, which number about a dozen. I ordered an omelet (with a few choose-my-own fillings) with potatoes and toast and a beverage. The food was served quickly and arrived hot. The quality and taste of the food at this little two-man operation are comparable to any big posh restaurant. There aren't a lot of frills, such as exotically flavored jellies and jams for your toast, but the price is definitely right. My breakfast, including the server's tip, set me back $12. If you're looking for a nice relaxed breakfast in a cozy New England dining room, this is the place.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WharfRat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colby's Breakfast & Lunch also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Colby's Breakfast & Lunch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing