We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for the valet!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Madison, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Watch out for the valet!”
Reviewed April 20, 2010

The hotel itself was pretty great - nice location, great amenities. The staff wasn't amazing - we went on valentine's day and encountered some pretty cranky staffers. What really ruined it for me is that once we pulled out of their strictly valet parking lot and into a gas station, we realized that the valet had dented my BRAND NEW car pretty badly. Not only is there a dent, but a scratch on the back door. I was practically in tears since we bought this car brand spanking new just 4 months before. We called and since we already left the lot, there wasn't anything they could do. We called manager after manager, each one of them not calling us back for weeks before we tried again, but it got us nowhere. So if you stay here, make sure the inspect your car before you leave their lot.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat9365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    763
    352
    56
    34
    14
See reviews for
273
478
47
250
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lynnwood, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks on a business trip. Since it's winter the hotel seems to have toned down on its services. The rooms were clean although there was a small crack on the bathroom sink that needs to get fixed. I had a problem on the tub drain on the 1st day but it was immediately fixed after I informed the staff of the problem. Wifi within the hotel is free. The restaurant offers daily breakfast buffet. It's simple, good food and reasonably priced. What I don't get is how come I was charged more for the weekend breakfast when the food served is the same?
Hotel had a carbon monoxide poisoning incident during my stay. I was booked at the Sheraton for the night (a different review) as a precaution as they do air quality checks. I was allowed to come back the next day.
Had to pay for parking and it's valet service only. Can't complain about this. I actually liked it. They had enough people to get my car without a long wait.
All in all this is a good hotel, clean and a good location. Will stay here again if given an opportunity to come back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melmaya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern, NH
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We have stayed at different places in and around Portsmouth and this is our favorite. We used to stay at the Bow st. INN and the Sheraton for the location, then we discovered this hotel. MUCH nicer and more afordable then the Sheraton. We love how quiet the rooms are. and also the beds are super comfortable. the location is great and within walking distance to all the downtown stores/pubs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NHFamof4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2010

We traveled to Portsmouth in August of 2009 for about 3 days. We really liked the Hilton Garden Inn here and would definitely return. It was nice, quiet and we had a lovely view of the town of Portsmouth and of the river. It is very convenient to all the shops and restaurants in Portsmouth but it is not on a busy street, so you can have quiet when you want it. I believe the hotel is a conversion; the building is a solid brick rather grand structure and the inside lobby is lovely with high ceilings and great light. We only gave the hotel four stars because of the disappointing restaurant. While the food is acceptable for breakfast the other meals are not very good. The dining room is lovely and the staff is nice; let's hope the cooking improves.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersfoort, Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2010

We stayed here for 1 night and I had booked a Romance Package with a 2-room suite. When we arrived the champagne was waiting and I was positively surprised by the spacious suite! The staff was very friendly.
The hotel is in the center of Portsmouth, so everything is within 5-10 minutes walking.

The only 'negative' thing I can think of, is that the room seemed a bit outdated. It can certainly do with some refurbishing! The way the room was, it gave me a 70s-80s feeling...

But apart from that: very nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2009

My corporate office is in downtown Portsmouth and so is this fine hotel. Good people, clean and comfortable rooms and facilities. Wouldn't think you would need to pay to park, but the old city has a lot of people and despite the parking garage accross the street, not enough parking.
More resturants per capita than any city in the USA and many good ones.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Commonwealth8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

We stayed in Portsmouth for a long weekend. We prepaid for an "evolution suite" and really like the hotel, room, and location. The hotel is well appointed, clean, and had a helpful staff. There's a small indoor pool with a hot tub that we had to ourselves the whole time we were there, which was a big plus for the kids.

The room had a nice bedroom and a small sitting room with a real door seperating the two. It was stylishly decorated and clean and met our needs perfectly.

The best thing about the hotel is the location. It would be hard to be MORE centrally located. You can walk to all the downtown shops, restaurants, and bars. You are particularly close to the Portsmouth Brewing Company, which I highly recommend for drinks. We also had to leave downtown, and this hotel is just two stop lights away from I-95. That's great location.

If I had a gripe it would be on value. We paid $210 per night and had to pre-pay to get that rate, and you are forced to valet park. Portsmouth is not Boston -- so, it ought to be nice for that price. Happily, it was. Others in our group (it was a wedding) saved few dollears and stayed just outside of downtown at the Holiday and regretted their decision.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keithcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing