We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“feeling welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Took my gf out for a night out and stayed here. I always like feeling welcome to a place and this place makes you feel that way from its great customer service at the front desk to the room. I am a huge fan of there pool and hot tub both were very clean and in a great room. Will come back

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Alexander T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,321)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

745 - 751 of 1,321 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

The Hilton Garden Inn is the best in Portsmouth. The rooms are well appointed and the public spaces are comfortable and welcoming. The service is impeccable and the location can't be beat. The breakfast was made to order and served to our tab would highly recommend the Hilton for both business and personal stays.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Johston J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Johston,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star rating on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you consider us to be the best hotel in Portsmouth—we have to agree! We value your business and are pleased that our well-appointed facility, impeccable service, and uneatable location have earned us your recommendation to the travel community for both business and personal stays. We look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

We took an unexpected day trip to Portsmouth without having booked a room over the July 4th holiday weekend. We decided to stay overnight and ended up walking into the hotel to see if any rooms were available. There were, at an expensive price, but this is to be expected on a holiday weekend. We stayed here for one night and found the hotel to be within quick walking distance of Portsmouth's many attractions. The room was large, comfortable and spatious and the staff very friendly. I would stay here again, booking in advance next time.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2014

My stay at HG Portsmouth was fantastic. Very friendly staff and clean accomodations. The valet offered us umbrellas when we were walking to a nearby restaurant, and it was a good thing because it poured about 5 min after we left the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Valets to the rescue! We're happy to hear that our valet was able to save you from a wet walk; our goal is to anticipate and accommodate all of our guests' needs and we're happy to have succeeded in this case. We appreciate your 5-star recommendation to the travel community and look forward to having you back.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Service and cleanliness were impeccable. The employee cleaning the lobby was using a small lint brush to get every last piece of dust. Truly amazing. Everyone was friendly andpleasant and efficient. Asked for clean towels and they arrived in seconds, not kidding.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

David,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for the 5-star review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on our service and cleanliness and are happy to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our property clean. We appreciate your recommendation to the travel community and hope you'll make us your home away from home in Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This was a quality hotel with excellent front desk service. The bar closes early - around 10 - so don't expect to wind down there. However, so much around you why depend on a hotel bar anyway? Beware of parking charges here - very pricy. We found a place on the street and paid two hours and then had the night free and re parked in the morning. This Hilton has the usual very comfortable firm beds and clean rooms. Pool is okay though somewhat small. Hot tub was actually hot. I'm happy. Again, location to all the quaint streets and shops makes this THE place to stay.
Really appreciated the in- room frig too

Room Tip: Just remember to ask about parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Elizabeth,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review your experience for TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear that you consider us THE place to stay in Portsmouth—we agree! We value your business and look forward to providing you with more 5-star stays in the future.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. It is very modern, updated, staff are excellent. The rooms are adequate size, granite in the shower surround. The bathroom, hotel room and entire hotel facility was very clean. Smells good. No musty smells. Everything was in good working order. Second time I've stayed here, and will do so again. Portsmouth is very small, for a city, but this is perfectly located to walk to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Heather,

Thank you for your return patronage of our hotel and for reviewing your experience for the TripAdvisor community. We're happy to have earned your 5-star recommendation as an excellent place to stay in Portsmouth and look forward to hosting your next visit.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
525 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $128 - $345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing