We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabin Fever Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I drove up from Boston and had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. From the minute we entered, we were greeted with friendly, professional service from Jessica. She arranged a beautiful end room for us on the second floor with a pretty sitting area and beautifiul window views. The room was pristine and had everything we needed including microwave, refrigerator and Keurig Coffe maker. The hotel is in the best possible location of all Portsmouth hotels. It is steps away from all of the restaurants, shops and waterfront. The hotel does provide valet parking for a nominal fee. We travel quite often and are always looking for great service and great location. We will definately return and recommend your hotel to others

Room Tip: end rooms on second floor are large and sunny. We did not hear anyone around us. Very quiet. I thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. I'm happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your getaway to Portsmouth and took advantage of our downtown location. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to hosting your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

775 - 781 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

A Great Overnight right in the center of town, surrounded by local shops, restaurants and bars. The staff was Friendly and helpful. We chose to eat at the hotel restaurant. The waitress and bar staff were exceptional...efficient and friendly...This is a great value and a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Robert,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing us with feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location in the center of town and that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

What a wonderful hotel to celebrate my wife's birthday. Staff were courteous and helpful, rooms were spotless, the lobby was warm and comfortable. breakfast was buffet but the chef made eggs, pancakes and waffles to order.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank KB758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This hotel has the best staff. They are eager to assist you and make your stay perfect. Due to extreme cold temperatures, the pipes froze in our bathroom! We had arrived late and had a family dinner in 1/2 hour! The staff took immediate action and moved us and even upgraded our room to a suite. Overall, we would highly recommend this hotel for a perfect stay and a perfect location.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Elisabetz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

First of all, this really is a nice facility. The location is great, the rooms are spacious and clean and the beds are very comfortable. The facility would be worthy of the highest rating if it were not for a couple of situations.

We were in town with friends for a wine festival and all staying at the Garden Inn. When we were in our room and turned on the lights in the bathroom, the lights began to flicker and there was a crackling sound coming from the light switch. Soon thereafter, there was a distinct burning smell in the bathroom. Upon being told of the situation the front desk informed us they would send up a maintenance person as soon as the shift changed. We left our room and when we returned later in the evening, the repair had been made (although the light switch was installed upside down). Since ours was not a public restroom, I guess we would have preferred that the maintenance person had not used the facilities while he was in our room.

It is surprising to me that housekeeping did not notice the faulty light switch, or if they had, had not reported it so it would be replaced prior to the next guest’s arrival.

Our friends were impressed with the hotel and their rooms, so we were the only ones with an issue. Overall, though, this is a good place to stay and perhaps our experience could be used as an example for a little staff training.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zman-nh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for providing us with feedback. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately, the light bulb must have burned out after the room inspection took place. I will be checking the maintenance schedule in order to address your comment regarding the maintenance visit. I greatly appreciate your feedback and will use it as an opportunity to further improve upon our customer service. I hope you will stay with us again and give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing you with an excellent experience, every time.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The accommodations at this Hilton Garden Inn are superb and the staff is wonderful. They are professional, welcoming, cheerful and truly care about the guest’s satisfaction. I would recommend a high floor and corner rooms. The corner rooms are well worth the additional expense. The property is located in close proximity to fabulous restaurants and lovely shops and boutiques. Don't miss Popovers and their steel cut oatmeal. Everything is within walking distance to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Deborah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Deborah,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for your 5-star review of our hotel, amenities, and staff. I'm pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to hostin gyour next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

I travel extensively for my work, this place stood out. I really didn't know what to expect in a small town, but the staff were amazing, the hotel was clean and the atmosphere all around was positive. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Loretta Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2014

Loretta,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you consider our hotel to be a standout especially considering your extensive travel experience. I will pass your compliments along to the staff; we appreciate your feedback and thank you for recommending our hotel to the TripAdvisor community.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
511 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $125 - $321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing