We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United States
1 review
“Would not stay again”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

There were too many problems for a one night stay. Pay for a view but the view wasn't very good. I had to pay for parking when I paid so much for the room. It took way too long to check in. Wanted a bottle of champagne in the room when we showed up and I had to say something twice before we got it. Neighbors in next room were so noisy at 2:00 AM I had to call down to complain. For a romantic weekend it did not turn out to be very.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Norm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Norm,

I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I will review the service failures you mentioned with my staff. We appreciate your feedback and hope you'll give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to providing an excellent guest experience.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    347
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
269
470
45
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2014

great get away with just me and the wife. We met in the lounge for a late night "sleep over" and drinks. They had a man with a guitar singing Bod Dylan and at the end of the night even played a Grateful Dead song for us. It was a great evening and the rooms smelled VERY clean. The pillows were like clouds and the bed was heavenly. The wife and I are going back

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Scott,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm happy to hear that you and your wife enjoyed your time at our hotel. We look forward to hosting your next getaway!

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overall we had a great experience with this hotel. The rooms are clean and comfy, location is great. Our room was skipped over one day by the cleaning staff however they did bring us towels and coffee and upon check out the staff was very understanding and took care of that mishap! Overall, I would definitely return. We enjoyed the pool and hot tub and the fitness room as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Katie,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community; we appreciate the feedback. I apologize that your room was passed over for cleaning service on one of the days of your stay but I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay overall. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

The hotel is in a great location close to all that downtown Portsmouth has to offer - dining and shopping! The hotel was clean and quiet, despite being nearly sold out. The staff was friendly, as I've found in most every Hilton hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meredith, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Absolutely perfect! We needed a hotel following a Christmas Eve family get together and the Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn was the perfect place to stay. I'd highly recommend to anyone in Portsmouth on business or leisure travel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2013

When visiting Portsmouth not only is this hotel the ideal place to stay for any type of travel, their bar and lounge area alone is worthy of a visit. I had a great time during a recent weekend stay. A solo traveling woman, I'm cautious of where I walk into for a cocktail or glass of wine. The bartenders during my stay, Jonathan and Katie, were terrific. These two were so friendly, knowledgable and easy to connect with. The live, soft music was another great feature. Definitely a worthy cocktail venue. Stop in!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MysticTraveler2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

If only more hotels were as pleasant as this one! I stayed on a December weeknight shortly before Christmas. Hotel was very quiet, even though there did seem to be a fair number of guests. Bed and plush pillows were fantastically comfortable. Loved the hot apple cider in the lobby -- it satisfied my craving for somethin' fruity! Front-desk staff friendly and professional. When I got to my room, I saw that the bath had a shower yet no tub. I went back downstairs and asked if I could switch to a room with tub, and my request was graciously accommodated. Terrific water pressure and piping hot! Lobby looks very nice; they had tasteful Christmas decor. If I could change one thing, I might lower the volume on the muzak and/or set the televisions on mute; it would make for a nicer sit in front of the fireplace. Overall, staying here was a splendid experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PodHater1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
1.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn Portsmouth Seacoast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing