We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Stay Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, United States
1 review
“Best Stay Ever”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The staff was awesome and my children and I loved the pool. The appearance of the hotel was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in downtown Portsmouth and everything is within walking distance from fabulous restaurants to great shopping. The next visit to Portsmouth I will be staying.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Stacy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Stacy,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate the feedback and I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and will return to stay with us again. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you again soon!

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    355
    56
    34
    14
See reviews for
281
483
47
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Hilton Garden Inn is in the perfect location for those who want to walk around town to do some shopping or dining. The hotel is in the center of a variety of shops, numerous restaurants, many galleries, and much more. You can walk to the harbor as well and enjoy the view. In wintry weather I recommend snow boots - sidewalks not fully plowed and there can be some icy spots.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Carrie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
422 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Great location but the staff made our stay 5 stars. Excellent service and nothing is too much trouble - even providing us with afternoon tea when the kitchen was closed. KUDOS for great service to the front desk staff on 12/22/3013.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stewart T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for recommending our hotel to the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you found our staff accommodating. Thank you for your return patronage and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013

I have no complaints about the service, rooms or rest & bar. I especially like the location in downtown Portsmouth it offers the opportunity to visit many shops, bars and restaurants within walking distance. Great place to stay and spend two or three days vacation with the wife or a friend while visiting downtown area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Douglas E. B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We needed to do a marathon Christmas shopping this year so we decided to go to Portsmouth NH where there are lots of local shops. We saw the Hilton Garden Inn was close to the shops so we booked a room there. It was great! It was so close to the shops that we could walk back throughout the day to drop off our packages. After a day of shopping we soaked in the hot tub and then walked to a great restaurant they had recommended for dinner. We definitely would recommened this hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you used our hotel as a home base for all of Portsmouth's wonderful shopping. We hope you'll visit us again soon! Happy holidays.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Hilton. The room was nice and very clean. You can valet for 18.00. There is a parking garage literally next door but it's 15.00 overnight.. Might as well pay a little extra. Check in is at 3 but our room was not ready until 4:20. It was frustrating since we only had a brief time away. There were a lot of excuses for the room not being ready and they gave us free breakfast even though it was already part of our room fee. Overall it's a nice hotel. Next time we may try the Marriott next door.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 831meghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

This is my second stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth. The hotel is very central, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Gym had the very basics and a bit small, but that's ok. That bing said I think it is certainly overpriced

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank AhmedY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing