We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Shopping Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We needed to do a marathon Christmas shopping this year so we decided to go to Portsmouth NH where there are lots of local shops. We saw the Hilton Garden Inn was close to the shops so we booked a room there. It was great! It was so close to the shops that we could walk back throughout the day to drop off our packages. After a day of shopping we soaked in the hot tub and then walked to a great restaurant they had recommended for dinner. We definitely would recommened this hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly and our room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

Colleen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you used our hotel as a home base for all of Portsmouth's wonderful shopping. We hope you'll visit us again soon! Happy holidays.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,265)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,265 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at the Hilton. The room was nice and very clean. You can valet for 18.00. There is a parking garage literally next door but it's 15.00 overnight.. Might as well pay a little extra. Check in is at 3 but our room was not ready until 4:20. It was frustrating since we only had a brief time away. There were a lot of excuses for the room not being ready and they gave us free breakfast even though it was already part of our room fee. Overall it's a nice hotel. Next time we may try the Marriott next door.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 831meghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

This is my second stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth. The hotel is very central, rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. The Gym had the very basics and a bit small, but that's ok. That bing said I think it is certainly overpriced

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank AhmedY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Stayed for a Saturday night during Portsmouth's Christmas weekend. The location is very good, but the hotel was extremely busy and the staff definitely seemed incapable of handling it. Check-in was prompt and efficient but our room was located right next to the elevator. It was loud all night long with paper thin walls (we could hear every word of the conversation in the room next to us) and the noise of people talking loudly coming on and off of the elevator. At check-in, we were offered free complimentary appetizers at the bar, cookies, and cider at 5 p.m. We showed up at five after and the cider was empty. There were tons of people mulling around waiting for it. The front desk staff said they put the cider out early and ran out. There were a few sparse appetizers (cheese/crackers and crudité). It was extremely cold outside so we wanted to wait for the cider to be replenished before we headed out for the tree lighting with our two teens. It took 30 minutes for the cider to be replenished. Around 8 p.m., we tried to use the indoor pool with our teens. There was a large, unbelievably LOUD extended family at the pool. They were throwing balls all over the pool area (dodge ball, apparently?!) and our two kids couldn't even find a safe spot to sit in the pool. No staff around monitoring and the noise level was so intolerable that we just gave up and left after an hour. The wait for the valet parking (a pricey $18 plus tip) was unbelievable. We waited at least 1/2 hour for our car. The hotel offered two options for parking, valet or paid/metered parking. We definitely wouldn't return to this hotel and will probably stick with a Marriott, where we usually have much better service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MommyofTwoGirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for your disappointing experience at our hotel. We do appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback, which we take very seriously. We pride ourselves on providing an exceptional guest experience and will address the problems that you encountered in order to rectify the situation. I hope that you will give us another try.

Sincerely,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

A comparatively new hotel close to downtown Portsmouth. Rooms were decent and clean, basically what you would expect. I've stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn nearby as well and prefer that hotel because it comes with a kitchenette and living room area, as well as free breakfast, all for a similar price. But still had a pleasant stay at the Hilton Garden Inn and would still recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jellydoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel has a great location. Service was amazing. Staff was amazing. From the valet at check-in to the bartender everyone was terrific. Friendly, accomodating. What a hotel experience should be! I Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank BeachyMcGees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We used this hotel for sleeping rooms, a conference room, a gathering space and a general, all-around "location central" for a recent group planning a 50th reunion. The reservations process was seamless, the follow-up was exceptional, the flexibility on all aspects of the stay was superb and we were all generally very impressed. Everyone we encountered was polite, helpful, pleasant and seemed truly interested in making all our arrangements run smoothly. The location could not be any more central or convenient and we will definitely use the property again either for meetings or simply to return to Portsmouth to see all the things we had no time for on this trip!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VTWindyrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and that the services, amenities, and staff provided a convenient and comfortable stay. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Portsmouth.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
498 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range: $143 - $429 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing