We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at this hotel. The staff are some of the best I have experienced in any hotel - they simply could not be more helpful and attentive. The only exception was Mark the breakfast chef - who could not have been more unfriendly - shame as that was the only negative. The gym, bar and bedrooms were all good, the standard of cleanliness was faultless. Would definitely recommend and return

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    337
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
258
452
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windham, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

For the past 2 years we have spent Thanksgiving in Portsmouth at the Hilton Garden Inn. The Hotel is beautiful and the customer service exceptional. We went shopping at the outlets in Kittery in Maine at 10pm and then did Black Friday at Fox Run Mall. We had a wonderful buffet dinner also at the Sheraton. Just a great stay and time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Floral Park, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

My wife and I go to Portsmouth every couple of months (great getaway driving distance from NYC). We have always stayed at the Sheraton, which was always very nice, but the Tripadvisor ratings had the Hilton Garden Inn as the highest rated hotel in town so we tried it. Very glad we did. Price was the same (a few dollars cheaper, actually) but the service was outstanding. From the moment we walked in, the valet and front desk were genuinely nice and over-the-top helpful. The entire hotel was spotless (room, common areas, restaurant, fitness center, everything). One of my pet peeves at hotels is the breakfast - they are consistently overpriced and not good quality. At the HGI, it was $11 for a buffet that included made to order anything, as much as you want. The restaurant staff was super friendly too. Another nice touch - I forgot my headphones, but the fitness center had complimentaries. Overall, the property was outstanding. I completely understand why this hotel is the highest rated on Tripadvisor. Bravo, Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_MGMT, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and with the TripAdvisor community. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your first stay with us; I hope it was the first of many. Thank you for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated.

Best,
Kevin Walker, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We had a perfect stay on Thanksgiving night. From the moment we pulled up to the front door and were greeted by the smiling valet, until leaving the next day we couldn't have been happier with our choice to stay at the Hilton Garden Inn. The young lady who signed us in was so helpful with suggestions, directions and advice. The manager for breakfast and his staff were all smiles and eager to please. This was the perfect location to walk to the restaurants and shops we wanted to visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hopkins45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Great location, friendly over performing staff and generous rooms. Room was truly beautiful - top floor view and so nicely appointed. Bathroom fixtures, shower pressure, all very good. The staff anticipated and met our every need, especially for a 24 hour escape (no time to lose). Good breakfast. Bottom line - really friendly and excellent service. This will become our hotel of choice when staying in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingvermonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel has a very friendly and professional staff on all shifts, the rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean, the bathrooms are very pretty and was impressed with the Neutrogena products and not just a generic brand of items in the bathrooms. We forgot an item and found it in the market in the lobby. The housekeepers even said hello in the hallways! An EXCELLENT HOTEL all the way around. We didn't experience the eatery, bar, pool or fitness center in the hotel, but it was nice to know that these are available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExplorerGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, NH, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Hilton Garden is a new hotel located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, NH. It's close proximity to shops, restaurants and all of the sites of Portsmouth make it a convenient place to stay to enjoy everything that Portsmouth has to offer.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.1 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct and Booking.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing