We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A jewel in Portsmouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
westerly, ri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A jewel in Portsmouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

First time stay in this Hotel. Had previously stayed in another downtown hotel but decided to give this one a try. Hotel tucked away on a side street in a quiet area. From the greeting of the car park attendent on arrival to the goodbye of the attendent on leaving the staff was extremely pleasant. Hotel is very attractive with a nice lounge and a small breakfast and dinner dining room. Only ate breakfast but selection of buffet was fine and the cook couldn't have been more accommodating. Location is fantastic as you are in walking distance of the downtown shopping and eating district with many many choices of dining. I would definately stay in this property again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank seasideatlantic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    337
    56
    34
    13
See reviews for
258
452
44
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in the heart of downtown. We loved staying here as we could walk back to our room and relax after a long day of shopping. There are so many restaurants to choose from within walking distance from this hotel.
The rooms are very clean and the breakfast was outstanding. The satff were so helpful and attentive.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are a great view of downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tntguys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast England
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

We had a nice big room overlooking the municipal car park but none the worse for that. (none of the rooms have views to die for!!) As you'd expect for a hotel of this sort everything was there, dining, spa, pool and fitness so no complaints. We were welcomed and shown to our room and all was well. The breakfast was good and we had a B&B deal so we had plenty to eat. Car parking was a little expensive at$18 per night but that was valet service. Our only gripe was we were questioned a couple of times as to the B$B deal and asked to pay before they sorted it out. On leaving it was still on the bill and this was again sorted out, but it did leave a little bitter taste after what was a good hotel stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Veteran_traveller041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This fresh, clean, amity-filled hotel had the ambience of a hotel at two times the price.."Jon" the bartender/waiter in the lobby bar was as service oriented as one could wish.....loved the double sided fireplace with the TVs overhead...got to watch the Sox march to the ALCS!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Best accommodation to be had for a visit to Portsmouth, NH. Located right in the heart of downtown, where all the restaurants and shops are located, the hotel's staff is exemplary, the hotel itself is modern, attractive and includes valet parking which is most important in this heavily trafficked town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

We spent one night in this hotel during our road trip in Maine. It was a very good place with very good service. The location was very good and we walked around to stretch our feet & enjoyed a bit of New Hampshire. We were very tired & slept well. The bed was very comfortable & quality of sleep was very good. Next morning we had a very good breakfast and continued on our journey. We certainly are hoping to stay there again & explore all their amenities in future. .

Room Tip: Our room was very good. We had taken two rooms that were interconnected by a door. Very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank khuku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights in October ,good location,not particularly cheap but we had a breakfast package which was well worth it .The staff whoever you contacted were excellent which is a tribute to the management as well ,hotel is a bit old but our room was fine and the use of free wifi in the room was a plus ,this is a gripe of mine that hotels like to charge extra for this including other hotels in the Hilton group so it is good to find this in the price .
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for touring lower New England as we did .

Room Tip: We had a room on third floor and it was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
2.1 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing