We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
goodmealseeker
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is tucked away on a side street convenient to all areas of downtown Portsmouth. We were within walking distance of practically everywhere. The service was excellent, everyone was helpful and cheerful. The room was good, a good size and comfortable. The only drawback was the $18 parking valet fee. We could have parked in the municipal lot across the street but the price difference wasn't that big and it was much easier to have the parking attendant. We ate all meals outside the hotel, so can't comment on the food. Would definitely go there again for our travel purposes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goodmealseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    627
    323
    54
    33
    10
See reviews for
239
404
41
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, MA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed recently on a Saturday night getaway and found this hotel to be very nice and in a great location. The hotel was extremely busy for some reason and they seemed to be running a little behind on having rooms ready. We got there about 2:40 and were told there were no rooms ready yet. We were told that technically, check in is 3:00, which is stated, but generally, you can get into your room a little ahead of time. There was luggage all over the place with other guests also waiting to get into their room. Aside from that, once we got in, the room was nice, extremely clean and the front desk staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. After a dinner out, we went to the hotel lounge where we found the bartender to also be extremely friendly and it was nice and relaxing. Breakfast buffet the next morning was great and we had the pleasure of meeting the Food and Beverage Manager, Tanner, who was very personable and made you feel like you were in his home. So, all in all, it was a fun time and I do have to agree with others that the staff is second to none, they must be hand picked and make you feel like you are there main priority, so congrats on having a great group of employees. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bellinghamfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It really is a perfect spot- you're in the center of downtown Portsmouth! My only issues were with what they didn't offer rather than the services they did (which were all great- the staff was wonderful, the rooms were clean etc.) My car had to be taken to a garage a couple miles from downtown Portsmouth and the Hilton didn't offer a shuttle, so I had pay the $30 for a cab ($15 each way). Additionally, unlike the sister hotels outside of downtown Portsmouth, they don't offer any sort of complimentary continental breakfast. For the price you pay for the convenience of being in the center of town, I'd think they would offer some more amenities.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff at this hotel were superb. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. The location was great. You are really in the heart of Portsmouth with very easy access to all of the shops, restaurant and waterfront. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Juliana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The staff was so friendly and accommodating to our group of girls. They arranged for all of our rooms to be close to gather and also surprised the bride with a delivery of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is at a great location in beautiful Portsmouth, NH. Combine this with dinner at Jumpin' Jay's, shopping around town, coffee shops, bistros and taverns. Very cool and very friendly. Good for 2 day 1 night stay or take couple of nights to enjoy everything. Enjoy the seafood.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank upstatenyfoodie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The hotel is a perfect location in Portsmouth. The rooms are clean and spacious. We used the pool and the gym as well and both were great. The front desk was very accomodating as when we came back afetr diner we noticed the two rooms next door to us had a huge "bachlorette party" banner hangng on their door. A quick call to the front desk and our room was changed (the clerk even came up to our room with new keys so we didnt have to go downstairs). Oh, and they had the best oatmeal/white chocolate cookies at the front desk. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking to stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovetotravel5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#2 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 381 reviews
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing