We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Just stayed here March 9th & 10th with my wife. I had business nearby close to Boston and had never stayed in Portsmouth before and wanted to give it a try. This hotel was perfect! The staff was extremely pleasant and helpful. The room was large comfortable and well appointed. They serve a great breakfast at the hotel until noon, but there are so many great places to eat within a five minute walking distance that need to be considered. The first night for dinner the front desk guy suggested "Surf" restaurant (2) blocks away. One of the nicest dinning experiences ever.
We can't wait until we have another opportunity to get back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    754
    348
    56
    34
    14
See reviews for
270
475
45
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The entertainment, food and service at the Hilton Garden in Portsmouth are remarkable. The hotel is perfectly located to explore Portsmouth and is a great value for the price. After coming here for the 3rd time, we would not go anywhere else!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Seamus checked me in and was a wealth of information about the area and especially restaurants. Breakfast service was a little slow, but the food was good. The bar is comfortable for dinner and drinks. Valet parking - cars were available in a very timely manner.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpankyandAlfalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The facility was ascetically appealing and clean. The staff was welcoming and friendly, and the location was perfect. It is just a block away from great shops, food, and drink. When we arrived we did some shopping and at night we caught a terrific band at one of the pubs. The hot cider in the lobby hit the spot. The next day we went on a tour of the University of New Hampshire with my daughter. Lots of fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Pleasant, comfortable room - no complaints whatsoever. Convenient location. I stupidly left a library book behind in my room and noticed it only when I returned to my home town. When I called the hotel and spoke with the housekeeping staff, they promised to mail it. Two days later it arrived FedEx, and they did not even charge me for postage/shipping. Although this was a business trip, I will ask my company to book a room for me at the Hilton Garden Inn again when I return to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gcb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Portsmouth is a great place to explore on foot with many great restaurants in the downtown area. Most of the larger hotels are just outside of town. This one is right in the center, walking distance from everything.

In addition to the perfect location we have experienced very friendly and efficient staff as well as consistent high quality accommodations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuckOlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Forget my previous review about this place being clean. Despite being fairly new, this place has gone from spotless to disgusting in a matter or 6 months. This is my 3rd stay since my initial, positive review, and the hotel has been rapidly declining. This is my 2nd stay where blood was visible on surfaces in the bathroom. During the most recent stay the soap package had blood smears on it. Since the TV didn't work either I complained and was switched to a different room, only to discover a smear of blood on the bathroom door. Not to mention the white crust on the office chair. Also, I pulled back the covers on the bed to find a yellow stain on the sheets. Seriously, it's time for new sheets once yellow stains are visible. Everywhere you look there are stains on the walls, crud on the floors indicating that the rooms are barely vacuumed. I'm in Portsmouth on business regularly and this is the last time I stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cintioh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron R, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness issues you encountered during your recent stay with us. Please know we take our guest's feedback very seriously and react quickly to investigate and correct all issues to ensure the best possible experience for all our guests. In this instance we have met with our housekeeping team and reviewed your comments. We know our guests deserve the best in service and accommodations and we regret this was not your impression.

We pride ourselves on the continuous high cleanliness scores we receive from our Hilton Garden Inn guest surveys.

I hope one day we can prove this to you as well.

Sincerely,
Ron R
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing