We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“central location”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second time staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portsmouth. The hotel is located in a great spot to walk to all the downtown shops and restaurants. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. Rooms (there were 4 couples) were all clean and free from odors. Valet parking added an extra $15/day but is not all that out of line with other hotels. Our only complaint is that the pillows are terrible and the bed was a little to hard for me. We opted not to include breakfast with our room package. There are many wonderful places to eat within walking distance. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again (with my own pillow)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tls15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    355
    56
    34
    14
See reviews for
281
483
47
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Windsor, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I spent a night at the Hilton Garden Inn in Portsmouth with another couple on 11/17/2012. It was a Saturday night and we arrived a little early for check in. The front desk staff was great - they switched our rooms so we could put our bags down and then go out for lunch. We went to the Blue Mermaid which is about a 30 second walk from the side of the Hilton. A nice cozy little spot with some great and unique dishes. We had parked our car with the valet when we arrived that afternoon and we literally did not need it until we checked out. The hotel is in that perfect of a location for everything Portsmouth has to offer - all within easy walking distance. We had dinner at the Portsmouth Brewery (another great spot) and walked our leftovers back to our rooms before hitting up some of the local bars. The room was spotless and uber comfortable. We plan on staying here for future visits and highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a gorgeous hotel with great staff in the perfect location to easily explore one of New England's most charming coastal cities.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahS1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were planning on staying at the Sheraton but there was a problem with our reservation. Thankfully the Hilton had a room available at the last minute. I am so glad we stayed here instead! Everyone from the valet to the front desk to the guy working on our heat (more on that later) was so nice and friendly and accomodating. The rooms seem to be recently renovated and were very clean and comfortable. Our heat didn't seem to be working right after we checked in, so they sent up a maintainance worker. He spent some time and although it didn't really get resolved, it was not super cold (just not warming up over 67 or so). The next afternoon (after the outside temp went from under 20 to over 40) the heat seemed to be working fine. Meredith from the front desk sent us a beautiful cheese platter and bottle of wine for our trouble! I was completely shocked, as it didn't seem like the kind of place to do this. But certainly very nice and appreciated. The location of this hotel is ideal, especially in winter. In 30 seconds you are in the heart of downtown Portsmouth with it's myraid of fabulous restaurants and shops. You could spend a month here and not try all the great options. My only complaint was there was a good deal of noise at 1 am on Saturday night, which I think was coming from the bar (right below us). I would suggest asking for a room on the higher floors to avoid this. Otherwise, we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: higher floor to avoid bar noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sueytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Nice new interiors, rooms are well designed, bed is adjustable comfort, sheets and pillows were good quality.
Great location.
Fireplaces and lounge areas in lobby very inviting. Very friendly and helpful staff; even the valet was friendly and helpful beyond the usual. (You do need to valet -- there isn't any self parking available)
Breakfast was standard hotel fare - fine.
For the rates, you cannot do better than this.
We had stayed several times at the Sheraton over the years -- the last two times I could feel the decline -- but that was almost 2 years ago. Maybe they are getting better, but judging by reviews here, I didn't want to chance it.
So we picked the Hilton instead. Great find. We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Don't try to get a room with view. This is an urban setting, so just go with that flow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I'm a Hilton Honors Diamond level member, and stay at many HGI's, and the Portsmouth location is one of the best I've ever stayed at. My wife and I have stayed at this location a few times due to its excellent location in Downtown Portsmouth, everything is within walking distance. The front desk staff are super friendly, and its the actual, real friendly, not the fake friendly I see at many other locations. The valet parking is reasonably priced, the only alternative is to park in the garage across the street, and if you're there longer than 12 hours, the valet ends up saving you money. The only very minor gripe I have is that the seating area around the bar frequently fills up.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have feather pillows, if you're allergic like I am, be sure to ask for foam pi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, SC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very good hotel in an excellent location. Very friendly staff, good rooms, very clean, etc. No complaints. A very nice hotel. We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The valet parking was $15.00. The location is excellent and everything was within walking distance. The hotel was clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casharoosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York USA
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2012

Portsmouth has long been one of our favorite cities – especial the number of old homes that have survived the years. Mostly we’ve been there in the warm weather months, but for a change we decided to go before Christmas to see what the holidays added to the old port city.
Downtown is a compact, mostly intact area filled with small shops, restaurants, pubs and historic house museums. In recent years developers have built three hotels in close proximity to take advantage of this center of activity. We chose the Hilton Garden mostly because of their points program and hopes of an interesting view from the room.
Reservations were made via the website, and a Friday and Saturday in a deluxe room cost $161 a night (taxes not included.) I think the difference between a regular and deluxe room is location – deluxe being on the ends of the building with large windows on the corners. Since we love the look of Portsmouth and unsure of the cold weather, we thought looking out at it might be worth the extra few bucks.
The room war large, bright and the third floor windows did give us an interesting view – although I suspect perhaps a little higher up and perhaps northeast facing, rather than northwest facing might have the best views.
The beds were very comfortable, there was a large work desk, and two plush chairs with an ottoman. Wireless internet worked fine, as did the heating system. There are no windows that can be opened – while not much of a concern in December, in warmer months the possibility of a little fresh air is always nice.
Rooms are equipped with a small microwave oven, coffee maker and refrigerator. I laughed to myself when I went down to the lobby area to get a newspaper and saw for sale frozen pizzas and other frozen meals. I guess the microwaves are used for more than heating water.
We did not use the restaurant, although a breakfast buffet was available at $15. We did use room service and the items were delivered very quickly, hot foods hot and cold foods cold and tasted very good.
With the limited space of the area, the hotel does not have its own free parking. On arrival valet parkers greet you and offer to park your car. There is a $15 per day charge, with no limit on the number of “ins” and “outs.” This does cause you a delay on leaving, as the valets must go and get your vehicle. Opposite the hotel is a city-run parking garage where you can park yourself. The rate is .75 cents an hour – I did not notice if there was a capped price of over a certain number of hours or not. You could also take your chance on street parking.
Overall we enjoyed our stay. The front desk staff, while not overly friendly, did their job efficiently and answered all questions promptly. Other staff members we encountered – valets, house keepers and service staff seem friendlier. The hotel and room were clean, nicely decorated and welcoming. We enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Better views higher up looking to the High Street side of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt12123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing