We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Nearby Hotels
$163
$159
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$179
$169
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Howard Johnson Portsmouth(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Portsmouth Central(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
$203
$180
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Portsmouth(Portsmouth)
$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,351)
Filter reviews
1,351 results
Traveler rating
853
375
64
39
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
853
375
64
39
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkinggreat locationfront deskwithin walking distancebreakfast buffethotel is centrally locatedstreet parkingrestaurants and shopscookiesvalet serviceper daypool and hot tubgreat place to stayvery nice hotelwould definitely stay here againnew englandbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,085 - 1,090 of 1,351 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here last week on our way back from ME. We usually stay elsewhere and this was our first time at this location. The hotel is located in the center of the Historic District and there are restaurants and night spots just steps from the hotel. Our room was spotless and the lobby and bar area was extremely well maintained. The staff was helpful and recommended Surf Restaurant on the waterfront (my new favorite) for Seafood. This area and particularly this HGI hotel are fantastic and this will be a regular future weekend getaway spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobHebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

First - easy to get to off the highway
Second - friendly and helpful valet
Third - pleasant welcome by the front desk, informative and welcoming.
Fourth - Room was comfortable and very clean bathroom.
Fifth - THIS PROPERTY IS IN THE HEART OF HISTORIC PORTSMOUTH - It is where you want to be!!!
NOW!!! I LOVE PORTSMOUTH!!! I wish I would have booked here for a longer stay! Comfortable and eclectic, great restaurant options and nice shops. Quaint historic waterfront - relaxing ambiance.
Jonathan and Seamus are great ambassadors of the Hilton Garden Inn. Welcoming and informative, the right amount of friendly welcome an professional hospitality! I would DEFINITELY stay at this property again. There is a lot to stroll and see. We parked the car and never took it out until check-out!

Room Tip: Doesn't matter where your room is - they are great rooms for the rate!! !
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hopesparkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed here on October 11th as part of our New England trip. A very easy place for travellers to check in /check out, and does exactly what it claims to do! Our deluxe King room was clean, modern and spacious with all the amenities we like for an overnight stay. The hotel is spacious, modern and manages to be business like and efficient whilst maintaining a friendly atmosphere. The staff were all very professional and friendly, with a special mention to the evening bar staff and breakfast staff who were cheerful and made us feel very welcome and the Pool tech who came very quickly to help us to operate the Spa.
We were very pleased that the hotel offers a Pool and Spa. Just a suggestion, but a sign over the 'on' /'reset' button for the spa would save the tech from having to come along and show guests what to do!
We were really pleased to discover the guest laundry room - we could dry our swim stuff. But we had to go back to our room to find 5 quarters to operate the dryer - if we had known then we could have come prepared! The quick spin machines are quite common in gyms and take just a few seconds to take excess water out of swim wear - this would have been useful too and free!
The valet parking was the cheapest to date for us and is very useful after a long journey arriving in an unfamiliar town. Thank you Hilton Garden Inn we would certainly use this hotel chain again.

Room Tip: The deluxe King room offers a great space and comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel for business or romantic weekend. Rooms are clean and updated. Breakfast was good. Not sure about price as I receive it as part of Hilton honors. We walked to various restaurants and parts of downtown. Only draw back is parking charge but most locations in area have it downtown. I do think $15.00 is a bit high though. This is why I gave it 4 stars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chelep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here June 2012. Parked the car outside the hotel after 18.00 otherwise used the car park opposite rather than the overpriced I house valet parking. Modern hotel which does better than many Hilton hotels comfortable rooms and the hotel is close to shopping restaurants bars etc. would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FromNorthNorfolkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews