We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Hotel”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed here while in Portsmouth for business. The hotel is located right in the downtown area in prime location to all the shops restaurants bars etc are all within close walking distance. The hotel is very nice with nice views of the harbor. The room was very up to date and comfortable. The desk staff was very helpful in choosing a place for dinner. When I go back to Portsmouth this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    355
    56
    34
    15
See reviews for
281
483
47
253
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed for one night in late August. The hotel is located close to the shops and restaurants in downtown Portsmouth. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff was pleasant. Overall, we were pleased with our stay here. While there is nothing remarkable about the property, there are certainly more expensive and less pleasing hotels in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariamb18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nova scotia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed for a brief getaway with friends and loved the experience. The hotel is perfectly placed for walks into town and around the area. The staff were superb and nothing was too much trouble - they were constantly cleaning the property and were instantly there if there was a need. Bathrooms and bedrooms were immaculate and the dial-a-sleep mattresses were novel and actually made a difference.
The bar staff were especially helpful and attentive and the prices reasonable - look for the free canapes in the evening and the coffee in the morning.
Free internet - parking ($15)reasonable given that it was valet and the prices at surrounding lots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredandlovinit04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillipston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed here for a wedding in the area. It was one of three hotels catering to the event. At check-in Dillon was less than polite and helpful. He chided me for not calling ahead to let them know I would be a half-hour early for check-in (yes my fault but, really???). He then took several phone calls while I was trying to check-in. It was pretty rude. He was also completely unhelpful when asking questions about the wedding and amenities.

We got to the room which was spacious and had nice amenities, a comfortable bed but there was dirt on small spots. There was some type of crumbs/lint on the chair. The floor of the shower was not clean. There was dirt on the top of the door frame of the bathroom.

The location was very good with lots of shops and restaurants very close by. The location is unbeatable.

This was an average experience in a wonderful town. I give it a "poor" rating as I paid just over $300 and did not receive that level of services or cleanliness.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phillipstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MI
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

We would definitely return to this property if staying in Portsmouth again. Location was within close walking distance to shops & restaurants. Nice, clean fitness center with updated equipment. Rooms were clean, bathrooms very clean(a must!). The bed linens were a bit tattered and there was no fluffy down comforter. Just a duvet...strange. Restaurant for breakfast was ok. Valet was great.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlingame, California
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Great location, within walking distance to all kinds of restaurants and shops on the harbor. Extremely helpful and friendly reception desk staff, nice spacious room. Free internet, great breakfast. Only complaint is the $15 valet parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannah1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is located in the heart of the downtown.. Convenient location to all restaurants and shops etc... The staff was very pleasant and the room was clean and spacious! enjoyed our stay and will definitely go back..

Room Tip: King bed with couch made for a larger room ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMAY57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.1 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Address: 100 High St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#3 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown is located in the heart of historic downtown Portsmouth, New Hampshire, surrounded by a wide variety of restaurants, attractions, shops, boutiques and waterfront gardens. Strawbery Banke historic neighborhood and Prescott Park are steps away, while The Kittery Outlets are just a 10 minute drive. New Hampshire and Maine coastal beaches, chartered deep-sea fishing, whale-watching tours, and panoramic tours of the Isles of Shoals are only a short boat ride from the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing