We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Hotel Portsmouth
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Hotel Portsmouth and had a wonderful experience. I cannot recommend it more highly. The people were friendly and super helpful. The accommodations were so comfortable, clean and with all the amenities you need. Check out the fabulous Malin and Goetz rum soap! It is located close to the center of town with dining, shopping and history all within a few minutes walk. We will definitely be back to The Hotel Portsmouth!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLKukstis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    71
    9
    7
    2
See reviews for
56
326
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This charming hotel is wonderful. Rooms were very comfortable (and clean) and the re-modeling is great. Modern decor with old time charm. Staff are very friendly and willing to assist in anyway they can. It was our first time to NH and have to say that we lucked out in choosing this hotel. It was within walking distance to everything we wanted to do. I hope we get back there someday!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guzzy76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is the former Sise Inn and the new owners have improved the place without losing the special character of an historic house. New bathrooms are great. My room had a slipper tub as well as a separate shower. Beds and bedding are first rate. The breakfast room had new tables and you can actually move around in there now without tripping over each other. Parking and a continental breakfast are included in the room rate. That parking perk cannot be overstated as parking is a real problem in downtown Portsmouth. You can leave your car at the hotel and walk to most places.
WiFi access was spotty. I sometimes could not connect my iPad at all and at other times it was slow. The Portsmouth library is just a block away with good WiFi in a pinch.
My room had a floor model air conditioner which was a little noisy and not too efficient. This didn't bother me but if you are a light sleeper it might bother you.
This is going to be my hotel of choice whenever I visit Portsmouth. I was in room 212, at the front of the house. Ask for it, then go to Macro Polo on Market St. and buy a fizzy bath bomb. Go back to the hotel and enjoy a luxurious bath.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAYLOLLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Recently stayed a night over the Fourth of July weekend. I had been to Portsmouth before but never to the Hotel Portsmouth. From the moment you pull up this updated Victorian is breath taking! Beautiful landscaping and patio in the rear...and I can't forget FREE parking for guests !! (The residence in nearby charged us almost 20 dollars a night last year)

Both male employees we encountered at the front desk during our stay were genuinely kind, friendly and helpful.

The queen room we stayed in was spotless and the absolute perfect mix of modern and retro decor! The walk in shower was amazing!

**dont leave without checking out the adorable kitchen and two seating areas on the first floor! Loved the decor in the blue room!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I love this hotel! The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly! It's also located on a nice quiet street but is a great location for walking to the bars/shops/restaurants/water. The rooms are really spacious and nicely decorated and clean. I would 100% stay here again.

Oh, and apparently suite 204 is haunted -- so try not to stay in that room if that's not your thing ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adshuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We started our Honeymoon a day early and on our way up to Portsmouth booked The Hotel Portsmouth and we are glad we found it. What a cool place. The hotel has a mix of old New England feel with modern chic. The rooms are modern but with the B&B feel you expect in New England, clean, new bathrooms. In the room, the hotel provided an ipad filled with attractions, restaurants etc. I have never seen that before and thought it was a great idea. We found our dinner that way and enjoyed it. The hotel is within walking distance to downtown, which is a nice walk on a nice night. Continental breakfast was good, no complaints on that.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BWex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
102 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The rooms are a mix of contemporary and original style, very well appointed. iPad in room. Nice King bed. Check in and check out was speedy. The gentleman at the desk put together a nice walking tour for us. There is continental breakfast included, which we had coffee only so I cannot speak to the food. The only consideration about the room configuration is that the bathroom light is in the main living area, the sink is open to the main area, and the toilet/shower are separate behind a door. If someone needs to use the bathroom in the night, they will be turning lights on and waking you up. (I am a light sleeper - this may not bother you. Maybe other rooms are set up differently.) The hotel is pet friendly - we heard dogs barking on a lower floor as we were leaving - however, our room was quiet.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, and great value. We will definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmmrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Portsmouth

Property: The Hotel Portsmouth
Address: 40 Court St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic downtown Portsmouth's newest boutique hotel: 32 guest rooms and suites, conference rooms and meeting spaces. Housed in an 1881 Queen Victorian mansion, The Hotel Portsmouth is Portsmouth's only non-chain, full service, independently owned boutique hotel. Modern conveniences include in-room iPads, free WiFi, luxurious bathrooms, 24 hour front desk, concierge services & free parking with every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing