We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wanted to stay longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Hotel Portsmouth
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
New London, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wanted to stay longer!”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Hotel Portsmouth is an awesome place to stay! Very comfortable and beautiful! Can't wait to go again!! The staff were excellent and very helpful. A classic new england house brought to life with the new renovations and such a charming place too! Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    75
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
59
337
17
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here a couple weeks back with 29 of my friends. Yes, 29 of us converged and took down 20 rooms during their inaugural week.

I'm no historian, but the place looks like a massive Victorian era home converted into a 30+ room B&B with all the look and feel of a swanky Manhattan Boutique hotel.

Parking was plentiful, and safe, and the place is located just a block off the main strip and walking distance to EVERYTHING in Portsmouth, yet so quiet that you actually feel like you're in the country when you decide to return to the HOTEL.

Kid friendly, pet friendly (1 room), and ADA friendly (1 room) with great small and large gathering spots. You feel like you're in someones home, in all the best ways.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomodojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, New hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Stayed here the first week they were opened and we were impressed. Beautiful old building newly renovated. Rooms updated but keep their original charm. The common areas were exceptional beautiful and comfortable. Continental breakfast was very good. Much attention is paid to their guests needs. I would recommend staying here for the location to downtown, the service, and the comfort.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NTutSTut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We usually stay at chain type hotels but when I saw the description, I thought we should give it a shot. I am glad we did. The staff is excellent the rooms are nice, clean and well appointed. This is a classic new england house with all the charm you would expect. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
silvadus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

My Family loved our stay at The Hotel Portsmouth! This place is beautiful. It was refreshing to be able to stay in an elegant hotel that is family friendly. We stayed in room 406 (it is more of a suite then a room). There was a bunk bed for my son and his friend with plenty of room to play, hang out, watch TV as well as a gorgeous room with a king bed for my husband and me. The bed linens were first rate with cozy comforters and comfy pillows. The mattress was a dream! The hotel is downtown with parking. There are plenty of shops, restaurants and fun to be had right near the hotel. The folks that work there are very helpful and welcoming. This hotel has great style, perfect location and all the comfort one might need.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silvadus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Wow, so hard to leave this place. I actually live in Portsmouth, pretty close to downtown. I live here for all the reasons people love to visit, plus an extra love of what it is my hometown. I couldn't resist trying out staying at the Hotel Portsmouth, after watching them progress from renovation to selecting each thoughtful design detail for the new hotel. And while the fun, retro vibe of the rotary phones and amazing curtain patterns (not to mention the in-room mini iPads equipped with local recommendations by meal) may have initially drew me in, it was the amazing beds and great service that linger in my mind. I never wanted to get out of that bed, and had more pillows than I knew what to do with. Super high thread count luxurious sheets... I woke up and couldn't believe the level of REM I must have hit to have had dreams like that. Top this all off with genuinely lovely desk staff, all locals and super happy to be there, and I will take any opportunity to stay here again—and will send all friends and family to the Hotel Portsmouth whenever they come to visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I was working on a project downtown and tried out the NEW Hotel Portsmouth. I really like the look and feel of this place. Super convent to downtown, easy to park, unique spaces, VERY well designed, and had a very comfortable nights sleep! The mattress was so good I had to ask where I could buy one! I did some research on the building and what it looked like in the past. Trust me the renovation is a total 360! The staff was friendly and were available to answer my questions. This Modern Victorian is not stuck in the past, its the best way to visit this historic New England town!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
2.0 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Portsmouth Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hotel Portsmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hotel Portsmouth

Property: The Hotel Portsmouth
Address: 40 Court St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-4412
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Hotel Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic downtown Portsmouth's newest boutique hotel: 32 guest rooms and suites, conference rooms and meeting spaces. Housed in an 1881 Queen Victorian mansion, The Hotel Portsmouth is Portsmouth's only non-chain, full service, independently owned boutique hotel. Modern conveniences include in-room iPads, free WiFi, luxurious bathrooms, 24 hour front desk, concierge services & free parking with every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Hotel Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing