We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it's Ups and Downs”

Portsmouth Gas Light Co.
Ranked #37 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
NH
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has it's Ups and Downs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have lived here since this restaurant opened. The beer is consistently very good to excellent. Wish I could say this about the food. I eaten here through three cycles of good and bad. The last time included terrible service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank P C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    144
    50
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lord of the flies”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I went here for lunch on a summer day. The place was empty and the staff unfriendly. The place was absolutely crawling and buzzing with flies. We complained to our waitress because we couldn't even eat our food since so many flies had landed on our plates. She basically laughed and said "You should have had lunch outside in the patio area instead of inside" Well, that was news to us since they never mentioned it and led us to our table.
The manager said he would comp our meal but then the waitress said no he did not. At this point I was so mad I just wanted to leave before I punched someone. Don't go here, the food is mediocre, the staff sucks and the manager is an a-hole. Unless you want to have the company of flies, then by all means come in- otherwise don't bother.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Diogenes1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

We were a little cautious given the range of review for this restaurant. We were very pleased. Excellent service. Great food. Waitress made a small mistake on our order and it was quickly and easily remedied. We would go back!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gonefishing2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza Pub downstairs”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Saw this was a Phantom Gourmet "hidden jewel", so tried it out on a Friday night with my husband. Street level is the "Grill Restaurant" more expensive/upscale than the Pizza Pub downstairs. We were looking for pizza in casual atmosphere, so headed downstairs. Loved the exposed stone foundation walls and wood beams, ceilings are low. Plenty of TVs if you wanted to watch sports. Decor upstairs was fancier, exposed brick walls and much higher ceilings.

We ordered one of their new pizzas, the Molly Malone (small) and a small cheese (as a back up, we're not usually adventurous with pizza toppings). No need though, the Molly Malone was Excellent! It was like eating loaded potato skins, sounds weird but was fabulous. Potatoes, crispy bacon, chives and sour cream drizzle. Great Italian crust, brick oven. Also had the mixed green salad, which was good.

They had a separate menu for beer, which was confusing, because it seemed like all they had to offer was local brews in large 22 oz. bottles. I finally found some standard bottled options on the food menu. Limited choices on tap.

We would definitely return!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brenda292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pizza!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a wonderful meal last night at the pizza pub downstairs at the Portsmouth Gas and Light Co. Have eaten upstairs in the past which is also delicious, but wanted to try the pizza pub. We were not disappointed, the pizza is delicious cooked in a wood fired oven at the end of the pub. We had the ranch pizza, so amazing! A must try, we also had the spinach salad, it was so delicious,fresh with a very tasty dressing. If you are in Portsmouth you must try this restaurant the food is fresh delicious and the servers are very attentive. An A+

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LisaB1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Gas Light Co. also viewed

 

Been to Portsmouth Gas Light Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing