We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dimly-lit Ambiance”

Portsmouth Gas Light Co.
Ranked #32 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Dimly-lit Ambiance”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I always look forward to the Gas Light's ambiance since each table is adorned with a small oil lantern, illuminating their gorgeous copper tables. The beverage list is extensive and well-thought out, pleasing to both the wine and beer connoisseur. As for the food, the 'stir-fry' with chicken (spicy with a snap of ginger) is my absolute favorite. The salads were uneventful but the appetizers are worthwhile. While it is a bit pricey, it's also a sure thing to represent Portsmouth 's local charm for visiting friends and family. Plus, there's a unique artisan shop next door and Gas Light Co. will validate your parking!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jonefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    145
    50
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halberstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
234 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

The tuna wrap was delicious, the bean burger wasnt tasting much at all. The decor and atmosphere was great, a beautifil place. Judging by what I saw on other plates, I would feel ripped off for "real" entrees like filet regarding the size of the dishes and the price level. Better dining are plentiful around.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank legrandviper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alpharetta, georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“love lobby”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My girlfriend and i had a lovely lobster risoto dinner here a couple weeks ago. It was so delicious.
Don't know if they have it on the menu all the time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xctryskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Too many good options to go here”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

9 of us ate on the main floor. Petite filet was overcooked for all 4 of us that ordered it. The short ribs were fantastic. Thursday night and the place was empty does not surprise me. The atmoshere was very nice and the pizza looked good, although none of us had it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SALEM_JOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love this place, food never disappoints, the wait staff is always friendly nad great location too!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank cutterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Gas Light Co. also viewed

 

Been to Portsmouth Gas Light Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing