We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Lobster Roll”
Review of The Oar House

The Oar House
Ranked #37 of 232 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bow Street
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped in for lunch and dined on the dock. Scallops wrapped in bacon was our starter. Was wonderful. the Lobster Roll was the best I’ve had- so much lobster, I had to eat with a fork and knife.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Uma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A nice surprise! Scallops wrapped in bacon are superb, as is the tender filet minion! Excellent service. Brick walls and wooden beams add a cozy ambience. Great spot to take out-of-staters looking for a New England experience!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Bucketlist47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

As a last minute decision we wanted to have a dinner in downtown Portsmouth. Our only challenge was that it was during peak season with a party of six and no reservations. We still tried our luck, and fortunately for us the Oar restaurant was able to accomodate us little later that same evening - we were blown away when the lovely Hostess called us back that they can seat us at our leisure! The atmosphere alone was lovely, not to mention how amazing the food itself was. We were so impressed how well Kyle took care of us that evening, a truly memorable dining experience!

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank rystynen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019 via mobile

We have been going to the Oar House since 1989. We were so happy with the service, especial with the our young waiter, Ryan. He was courteous and fast. Enjoyed his service with his relaxed demeanor and knowledge of the menu. Great recommendations. Dinner was excellent.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank MaryLiz2026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

Our visit to The Oar House started out by getting lost - it's on a small alley-type street in historic Portsmouth. The food and service were equally good. My husband loved his bouillabaisse which was piping hot in a delicious broth. My appetizer of grilled romaine lettuce with corn compote was quite good - a unique take on the tired old Caesar salad. And for dessert, we both loved the chocolate "pot au creme" - a deep, rich chocolate flavor that seemed made from scratch in house. The wine and beer list was a bit limited (by the glass), but we both found something we liked, just nothing special. Overall, good food and service.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oar House also viewed

 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to The Oar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing