We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for lunch”
Review of The Oar House

The Oar House
Ranked #29 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bow Street
Garland, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice place for lunch”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our way back to Boston and enjoyed a very good experience. The bacon wrapped scallops are my favorite and just as good as I remembered them from a few years back. Service was excellent.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    116
    46
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MASS
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food ok, pricey, service odd”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We had made a reservation for UNH Parents Weekend- there were 7 of us. We made a late lunch reservation for 3pm on Saturday. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated, which was fine, but when seated it took quite a while to get our first drink orders in. Also, they gave us 3 menus and then, after we waited about 10 minutes and picked our choices, the waitress told us that we could only have certain items because it was between lunch and dinner. that's ok too but the options weren't appealling to most of the group (I picked it based on the menu). Someone then came over and said we could have what we wanted from the full menu. huh? anyway, the meal was fine, a bit over priced for the quality.

We had a great time because of the company we were with but I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paducah1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique Location”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Dinner here was a special occasion dinner for us with a gift card purchased over the phone by our kids. There was no problem doing this over the phone and the staff was ready to make this a special anniversary celebration for us. We were certainly treated to a top notch dinner. Quiet table in the back with an awesome server named Karen. She was attentive to our every need, gave us tips on the menu and just let us linger between courses and chat. Granted it was a slow night, but I think that's how she is all the time. Food was wonderful - shared specials of steamers and clam strips followed by a seafood dish (Oar House) and my husband had veal piccata. Food was excellent. Prior to dinner we had a drink on the Oar House Dock on the water. I hadn't finished my wine so the bartender brought it over for me to the main restaurant. A couple of nights later we ate on the Dock - beautiful view with the same menu - quite casual and the service more casual also. Two very pleasant evenings.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waterfront Bliss”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A beautiful evening on the water with dear friends, awesome location and terrific food! Watching boats coming in the harbor was so relaxing we hated to leave. The Haddock was fresh and cooked to perfection. The service attentive but not suffocating, we never felt rushed which is unusual in a busy restaurant. It was a perfect evening. Thank you Oar House for the fine food and service, we'll be back!!!
Although parking is difficult every where in Portsmouth, valet parking is offered and convenient.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sfkhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
454 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent NH seafood”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My friend visited this place few years ago and she was impressed with it, so she took me there. It was as good as she described it. The oysters were fresh (we had a dozen each). The service was excellent, our waitress very pleasant. The seafood was amazing. A pleasant way to spend a couple of hours at lunch time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moniaits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oar House also viewed

 

Been to The Oar House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing