We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food but not great service”
Review of The Rusty Hammer

The Rusty Hammer
Ranked #96 of 205 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The food was good although we both just had sandwiches. The service was slow although the place did not seem too busy. There was an error made with my dish, but it was quickly remedied. Would try it again, but so far it was just ok.

Thank Chinchilla999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 109 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Oh thou once delectable Rusty, How hast thou ended thus? But seriously,.. I loved the Rusty in days past, Haddock baked with a delightful red Thai sauce, steak tips of juicy perfection, fat succulent burgers, fries of potaoey excellence. Just went there for lunch on Friday 7/26/13. My daughter and her friend got sick from the rancid fry grease. Bonnie had an uneventful dried out burger with rancid onion rings. Emily had a chicken sandwich with rancid fries. I had a baked potato,(I've had to go vegetarian due to health), and my husband had their homemade potato salad, too salty. Well, what more can be said, another one bites the dust. I am reluctantly starting to see a pattern here, restaurants gone bad. Is this a conspiracy?

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NikkiP231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I use to live in Portsmouth from Dec 2001 to June 2003. Ate here many times with my wife. Great food & Atmosphere. It was great being back in Portsmouth & eating here again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelermanPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Was just driving around town on a rainy day looking for a place to eat, and saw the banner outside that it was voted best burger so decided to give it a try. We had the Island Wimpy Carribean Jerk Seasoning & Cheddar Cheese and Wimpy-Shrooms with Sauteed Mushrooms, both turned out to be pretty good for a burger.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

A very good sports bar - fast, friendly bartenders - made sure every ingredient was fresh and the bar was cleaned constantly. The crew responded to the mood of the patrons for the volume and channels served - and joined right in on the fun and cheering. You knew they'd soon know your name if you became a "regular". I look forward to returning.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rusty Hammer also viewed

 

Been to The Rusty Hammer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing