We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ice Cream and Waffle Cones!!”
Review of Kilwins

Kilwins
Ranked #5 of 9 Dessert in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Ice Cream and Waffle Cones!!”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

The title says it all. Made a return trip here after the first night because it was so good! Ice cream was very good, but I think the waffle cones may even top the ice cream. Did not buy any of the homemade candy or fudge, but it looked very good as well.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    20
    8
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Fudge”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We tried samples of their fudge and ended up buying 1.5 pounds! Very flavorful and creamy with a good assortment of classic flavors.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank sol707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sticky, sticker-shock!”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Great scoop of chocolate peanut butter ice-cream. We both loved our choices, but were a little shocked at the price. Over $7(almost 8!) for 2 of the smallest one scoops they had. I think she had told me that it was the kiddie cone. Thank goodness we didn't have the 4 kiddies with us or we would have been washing dishes! LOL

Great ice-cream, but be ready for the sticker shock. Also, it seemed to be really 'melty'. We did a lot of licking the sides.

I would recommend, but only as a really special treat…and stay inside the air-conditioning while you eat it! Enjoy.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank 6sojourners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“toasted coconut ice cream”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

After leaving a fabulous show at the Music Hall walked up Congress St. It was 9:55 when we entered Kilwins, we asked when they closed. The young man answered " right after we serve you some of best ice cream you will have ever eaten. 3 different dishes of delicious flavors. We left smiling at 10:05, as another customer came thru their door. The sign on the door said, on Tuesday, they close at ten. Great customer service and great ice cream which was totally gone just as we reached our for the one hour drive home. Thanks Kilwins

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“Must go everytime I am in Portsmouth!”
Reviewed July 13, 2014

I have been many times and never disappointed! Since the first time, have gone back with friends and family so they all know how good it is. Homemade waffle cones are delicious and the ice cream has real stuff in it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwins also viewed

 

Been to Kilwins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing