We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, missing some amenities” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Ferry Landing

Old Ferry Landing
Ranked #53 of 199 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Great location, missing some amenities”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is a great spot to sit outside and enjoy a beautiful summer day, but you'll be sitting close to your neighbors and the food is pretty average. The atmosphere is a bit manic, but the views are beautiful.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    68
    35
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fairlee, Vermont
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cute spot on the harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Tucked away in the port section next to three colorful tugboats, this is an efficient, cozy fish food place that we really enjoyed. Good staff, great views, delicious seafood, quick service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gordon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Lahave, Ns
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A bit Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our waitress was super and most accommodating of our requests. Not recognizing the beers on draft she choose one that was perfect for my tastes. The food was hot but pretty plain. I had some haddock that was a bit overcooked not as fresh as I would have expected. My wife enjoyed her lobster roll.
A bit pricey for what we had

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Teach3258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, Location , Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Located in downtown Portsmouth on the Waterfront being near the water's edge is the ultimate in drinking and dining pleasure. Good food and great drinks makes this a fun location to visit and hangout at. I have been here a few times.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Portsmouth_NHRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
384 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Picked the Old Ferry Landing based on TripAdvisor reviews, and they were right on! The list of specials at lunch had about ten items, and they all looked very interesting. There were four of us, and we tried three of the specials, and we all really enjoyed them. We sat out on the deck, and could watch the tug boats come in and out right next to the restaurant. Service was excellent and fast. Will definitely go back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bbwex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ferry Landing also viewed

 

Been to Old Ferry Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing