We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bratskellar Pub has a relaxed atmosphere”

Dinnerhorn Bratskellar
Ranked #45 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Bratskellar Pub has a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed June 5, 2014

So, we like to relax, have a few beverages and perhaps have an appetizer before supper or if it is lunch we order the pizza. The pub area seems to be the perfect place for this sort of thing. The staff is very friendly and do not seem to mind if you are not in a hurry, like at some establishments that serve food and drinks. We have found the pizza to be delicious, other things not so good. We tried the nachos which were not as good as we expected them to be, but we have to say we are fussy about our nachos. If you are looking for an informal, relaxing atmosphere to enjoy your afternoon or early evening this is a nice place to try!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nmcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    18
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't even think about it!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We're a 20/30 something couple from out of state looking for a dinner spot tonight. We, like you saw the few 'bad' reviews, and thought...nah, can't be bad - the good reviews are great and it appears this is where the locals go. Yes, the local nursing home..maybe you've lost your sense of smell/taste or you're on a restricted diet of mush - perfect, this is the place for you! Once we sat down, our gut feeling was to head right on out the door by glancing at their menu and average age of the patrons. Instead, we ordered something that we thought couldn't be screwed up. Boy, were we wrong! We split a side Ceaser Salad - the lettuce looked wilted and dirty. The edible portions were bland & boring. Ah ha! Out comes the main dish of fried shrimp & scallops with fries. We have never had seafood more close to the ocean that mine as well have been served at a truck stop in Iowa. The fry job was even bad - flavor less and soggy. Before stopping here we read a review that described this place as tired & old - SO TRUE!

Helpful?
1 Thank aboyd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Keep this to yourself!!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Pssst....I'll let you in on a little secret, but don't tell anyone. This is where the locals eat! They send the tourists and visitors to the expensive and average type restaurants. Seriously, we were recommended this restaurant by the guy who checked us into our hotel room. I asked him for a recommendation for a good restaurant and he told me to go here. He was right. The establishment has a pub on one side and a restaurant on the other. We chose the restaurant (my wife and I) and decided on seafood, no appetizer. Good decision for no appetizer because we wouldn't have had any room. The "Captains plate" which is basically your seafood platter was excellent. Fries, coleslaw, tartar, haddock, clams, shrimp and scallops. All on a huge plate. I couldn't eat it all! My wife decided on a baked seafood dish and she was as well very impressed. Apparently their pizzas are excellent, they have been baking them for forty years, haven't changed because they are so popular. Our server, Ethan proved to be an excellent waiter. Great server, great food, no room for dessert. We'll be back our next time in Portland.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding Experience”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I like to dine here when in the area and we are always happy with our experience. We ate here again this trip and it was an outstanding experience. It was Restaurant Week and I ordered one of their items from this menu and I would rate my meal as my second best dining experience ever! I had an avocado and fish cake salad, the halibut with lobster sauce and shrimp risotto and apple pie with ice cream. The salad was a meal in itself and the pie went home with us. As always my husband order the seafood chowder which he claims to be the best of all he has eaten. This restaurant is not fancy, but the dining experience is always a pleasure. The service is friendly and efficient.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MJP695rue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is a great restaurant for seafood, I really enjoy there haddock sandwich. I've had it both times that I've been there and was not disappointed. I will probably try something different next time, but it was very, very good!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karabella11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul K, Owner at Dinnerhorn Bratskellar, responded to this review, December 11, 2014
Thank you! Whether it's for a haddock sandwich or something a little different, we would love to have you back sometime.

Cheers,
Paul - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dinnerhorn Bratskellar also viewed

 

Been to Dinnerhorn Bratskellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing