We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jumping jays will make you jump!!!!!!!!”

Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe
Ranked #7 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Middle Street, Maplewood Avenue, Islington Street
Description: Located just two blocks down from Market Square in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Jumpin' Jay's is a local foodie enclave serving refined seafood in a sleek restaurant setting. The quality of fare is unsurpassed, with fish arriving daily from local fisherman as well as some exotic catches from locations such as New Zealand and Ecuador. Four to six varieties of fish appear on the ever-changing "Catch of the Day" menu, complimented by your choice of gourmet sauce. Our raw bar offers an extensive variety of shellfish found in New Hampshire. Our specialties menu offers more traditional flavor, including Maine Crab Cakes, Haddock Piccata and our popular Linguine in White Clam Sauce. The atmosphere is casually hip, with no pretense. Reservations encouraged. Open seven nights a week.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Jumping jays will make you jump!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Get the mussels omggggg the broth is amazing!seriously some of the best mussels I've ever eaten. Raw platter is a nice selection- share with one person... We ordered it for four of us but it was not enough. Calamari melts in your mouth. If you like garlic, get the clams and spaghetti... Fantastic! Honestly, I don't think you could order anything there that would be a disappointment. Stick with the seafood. I had the filet mignon and it was great, but I just think it's more of a place you go for seafood. A bit pricey but well worth it. Kelly is a great waitress! :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kasmire2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    279
    88
    28
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Great great great!”
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

From outside it looks like a small cafe but it is a great restaurant. The menu is small which I like because that usually means the kitchen can manage the orders. The service was great and the food was amazing. I will definitely go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Good Restaurant”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

We walked in without a reservation at about 6 pm and were seated right away. If you go much later, I'd suggest making a reservation as it was busy and people were waiting for tables when we left. My husband had clam chowder and swordfish, which were excellent. I had oysters on the half shell, which were wonderful, and the halibut, with the lobster veloute sauce, which was superb. The hot fudge brownie for dessert was very very good. Our waitress was excellent, checking on us without hovering. It appears that the waitstaff has been trained to be quick without seeming to hurry.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank sneaks_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I want to come back here!”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

A friend of mine recommended this resto. And now I am recommending it to you! :)

The ambiance was great as well as the customer service. But the greatest of all is the food! :p I loved their crispy calamari and their lobster from the raw bar. A lobster tail is not enough! A little pricey but the food here was worth it.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fresh fish on speed dial”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

A curious blend of the good and the disappointing: the staff who greeted us and served our food were friendly and pleasant and yet detached: as if they had been told to be friendly, but were just reading a script and not really invested. Even on a Monday night, with a not-quite-full dining room, the servers were moving at warp speed. Our dinner felt very rushed: cocktails and bread appeared quickly and were very good. The mussels we ordered were okay: very small, several unopened hence not edible, more heat from jalapenos than we expected from the menu description; the broth was the best part, but we had to ask for bread to enjoy it, since none came with the mussels. To her credit, our server didn't seem surprised by our request and quickly brought the bread.
The haddock piccata special was delicious, but the halibut special of the day was overcooked: a terrible fate for what should be a silky and moist delicacy. We had told our server that we wanted to order wines by the glasses to accompany our entrees, and she did bring us the wine list promptly. Unfortunately, however, our entrees arrived several minutes before our wine. Plates were very quickly cleared, so in less than 50 minutes we were presented with our check.
Overall,our experience was mixed, but disappointing: an expensive meal with uneven offerings, served by staff who seemed to be more interested in getting us out of the restaurant than savoring and enjoying a good meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MartsoSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing