We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Start at the bar with Lynne.”

Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Middle Street, Maplewood Avenue, Islington Street
Description: Located just two blocks down from Market Square in Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Jumpin' Jay's is a local foodie enclave serving refined seafood in a sleek restaurant setting. The quality of fare is unsurpassed, with fish arriving daily from local fisherman as well as some exotic catches from locations such as New Zealand and Ecuador. Four to six varieties of fish appear on the ever-changing "Catch of the Day" menu, complimented by your choice of gourmet sauce. Our raw bar offers an extensive variety of shellfish found in New Hampshire. Our specialties menu offers more traditional flavor, including Maine Crab Cakes, Haddock Piccata and our popular Linguine in White Clam Sauce. The atmosphere is casually hip, with no pretense. Reservations encouraged. Open seven nights a week.
Norwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Start at the bar with Lynne.”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Lynne started me off with a great Martini as she and my wife did a lot of talking. Everyone in this restaurant made our meal perfect.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    271
    85
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Great Food!”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

I love this Restaurant. Just steps from my favorite hotel The Hotel Portsmouth. The fish is fresh as can be. My husband had the variety plate of oysters and said they were the best he has every had. We ate there during restaurant week and the menu was terrific. I had the scallops carbonara...can you say decadent! I can't wait to go back! The service was impeccable and we were seated within 5 minutes of our reservation which makes me very happy. I will definitely return my next visit!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynda527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Eat some fish!”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Jumpin Jay's is great fish place! Clams, muscles, raw oysters, swordfish, salmon, haddock, chowda are the choices to stick to. They have a great arrangement of sauces, as well, for just a hint of something new. The servers are on target, checking on tables, filling water glasses, and making good recommendations.
The decor isn't great, they're ready for change, but the atmosphere is positively hopping!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently fresh, well prepared seafood.”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

When people ask where to eat seafood in Portsmouth, Jays is our #1 recommendation.
It's busy, it's edgy, not inexpensive. Fish is fresh and they are more than willing to work with you on preparation.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank betomval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“If you are looking for fabulously fresh seafood...”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We just LOVE Jumpin' Jays! It is one of our "go to" places to eat in Portsmouth. The seafood is excellent especially whatever is fresh for the day and did we mention the mussels? You will want plenty of that great crusty bread to dip in the sauce. Ambiance is great. If it is just the two of you, we love sitting at the bar. Great fun. But it is also perfect when you want a great restaurant with your out of town guests.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ddmiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Jumpin' Jay's Fish Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing