We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beers”
Review of Portsmouth Brewery

Portsmouth Brewery
Ranked #12 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pub, Soups, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to New Hampshire's original brewpub, a landmark in downtown Portsmouth's thriving restaurant scene since 1991. Our wide-ranging menu is complemented by a selection of our own unique, hand-crafted beers, as well as selected guest beers, including hard-to-find selections from our sister company, Smuttynose Brewing Co. Come for the beer. Stay for the food. We serve all types!
Saint John
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great beers”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Nice atmosphere and an excellent selection of beers brewed onsite. They also offer beer flights -- small sampling glasses of a number of different beers.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acktual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    446
    152
    25
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York, Maine
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vegetarian Oasis in a Meaty Town”
Reviewed August 21, 2014

I just want to give a shout-out and a thanks to the Portsmouth Brewery for having the best vegetarian options in Portsmouth. Sometimes it's hard to find creative meat-free selections in coastal town so saturated with seafood, but the Brewery continues to offer inspired choices (and lots of them!).

Most restaurants in the area (with the exception of a handful) offer 1-2 meatless options at best, but the Portsmouth Brewery goes far above and beyond that. There are lots of meat-free appetizer and salad options (including salad add-ons like braised tempeh and roasted tofu), vegetarian entrees including a delicious tempeh reuben, veggie burger and a grilled vegan sausage dish. In addition, they have a rotating list of nightly specials and 5 of the 7 nights of the week there is a vegetarian version of the special. Every one I've tried has been delicious.

I haven't even mentioned the beer selections yet. Always a ton to choose from, so no matter what styles you like you'll find something interesting to try.

PRO TIPS:
1. The La Panza lounge downstairs has nightly specials and on Taco Tuesday (where tacos are only $1!), there is a delicious veggie version.

2. They are doing some really interesting experimental cask brews downstairs so be sure to ask your server what's on cask.

3. Pretzel rolls

4. Seasonal outdoor seating on cozy patio -- usually much quieter atmosphere and worth the wait on a nice night

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Top Service and Food at this NH Brewery/Brewpub!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stopped to Portsmouth Brewery on our way to Maine. There was no wait for lunch and we were seated at a comfortable booth. Our waited stopped over very quickly and took our order for drinks and appetizers. He was extremely attentive. The food was very good and the fresh fish sandwich I had was extremely tasty. The beer selection was pretty good, though we were disappointed that NH laws didn't allow us to purchase a large bottle to take with us on our travels. It was one we haven't seen in NY and wanted to bring it back home. Alas it wasn't the brewery's fault since it was state law. Either way this was one of the friendliest brewpubs where the food was just as good as the service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KTNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good beer, pub food”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

Downtown location, they have good beer, burgers were tasty. Whippersnapper was good and so was the wheat beer.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JBandDJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Favorite place ever!”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

This is easily my favorite place I've ever eaten or drank good beer! I love the Black Cat Stout! The seafood is fresh! Burgers are delicious! If you have a chance to to to the Jimmy Lapanza lounge you should enjoy the food specials. What an all around great establishment!

Helpful?
Thank Ross G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Brewery also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Portsmouth Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing