We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What happened?”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Portsmouth Brewery

Portsmouth Brewery
Ranked #10 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pub, Soups, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to New Hampshire's original brewpub, a landmark in downtown Portsmouth's thriving restaurant scene since 1991. Our wide-ranging menu is complemented by a selection of our own unique, hand-crafted beers, as well as selected guest beers, including hard-to-find selections from our sister company, Smuttynose Brewing Co. Come for the beer. Stay for the food. We serve all types!
new england
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“What happened?”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Have been here often over time. This time, hostess must have had something personal going on, not against me per se, ( I hope) . Led us to that little teeny, tiny room to the left as you enter. Why? Plenty of room in main area. Asked to be seated in main area. She huffed, she puffed and she did not blow the house down. Food the worst we have ever had here. What happened? The waiter was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tiquer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    441
    151
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Felt like home...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Coming from Troy, NY... which is home to Brown's Brewery, we always try to hit the local brew pubs when we travel. We sat at the bar and the bartenders were attentive and very well versed not only in their beers, but their menu as well. We sampled a flight of beers and were very impressed. My husband had the flatbread special of the day and was delighted with it. I went basic with a Caesar salad and it was delicious. We chatted up some locals and really felt comfortable whiling away an afternoon. Definietly someplace we'd go again.

Side note...when you are there, check out the bathrooms. Coolest bathroom doors ever.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
121 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great place a casual dinner”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stopped here with friends while schlepping around the city...Good salmon and chicken dishes and the local brews and ciders are nice as well..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
365 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Overrated but good beer and mussels”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Brewery is a source of pride for many locals but I've never been able to get on board. Their food is just ok, but barely. They do have great Indian inspired mussels, with coconut milk that are quite good. Their entrees, burger, and sandwiches (I've tried lots of them) are sort of blah.

I've found their hostesses to be unfriendly but the bar tenders and waitstaff have always been great! Their homemade beers are definitely a novelty item so its a good place to take visits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msmith703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Local beer and food? Done!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Portsmouth Brewery has a great selection of beer as well as wonderful meal options weather you're in the mood for a steak and shrimp or vegan ruben on gluten free bread. I found this place to be perfect for anyone with just about any diet needs. The only thing they were missing was a gluten free beer. Service was friendly and accommodating. We loved it and would go back in a heart beat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Porchsong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Brewery also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Portsmouth Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing