We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Portsmouth Brewery

Portsmouth Brewery
Ranked #10 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pub, Soups, Brew Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to New Hampshire's original brewpub, a landmark in downtown Portsmouth's thriving restaurant scene since 1991. Our wide-ranging menu is complemented by a selection of our own unique, hand-crafted beers, as well as selected guest beers, including hard-to-find selections from our sister company, Smuttynose Brewing Co. Come for the beer. Stay for the food. We serve all types!
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good beer.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My dining partners have seemed to have better luck than I. Usually, disappointed with the food. Service is usually decent. Beer is usually very good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SometimesIryhmeQuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    441
    151
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Although I think that the food is a bit overpriced for what you get, the Portsmouth Brewery is a must when visiting the area. Loud, fun place with great beers on tap. Friendly staff.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High quality food with amazing beer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

After having a delicious lunch of spicy curry mussels and a seasonal salad (topped with balsamic grilled apples, pumpkin seeds and a lemon-tarragon vinaigrette), we HAD to return for dinner! The steak with a chile rub and an ale butter was accompanied by rosemary-onion fries. DELICIOUS! The most impressive aspect of the Brewery is the staff's knowledge of their delicious beer menu. I highly recommend getting a paddle sampler (aka their "flight" of the day's brews). It's a great way of being exposed to different tastes and flavors while helping yourself make your brew choice. The ambiance is warm and inviting, although a little loud and the energy of the staff makes this a no-brainer destination when you're in town!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewEnglandSisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and casual”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

The brewery is a great place to stop for lunch and an afternoon beer or for a casual dinner. We didn't do a brewery tour mostly because we had just arrived in Portsmouth and just wanted something eat and a good beer and Portsmouth Brewery is a great choice. We shared the nachos which were delicious and plentiful and we tried a couple of the house brews which were good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great brewpub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Want both good beer and food - Portsmouth brewery is the place. Unless you have 10 people they won't take reservations so at times you'll need to wait awhile. Great food and good atmosphere.
Don't miss while in Portsmouth NH.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portsmouth Brewery also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Portsmouth Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing