We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing view fair food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Martingale Wharf

Martingale Wharf
Ranked #48 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Features an expansive deck overlooking Portsmouth Harbor, lounge with one of a kind 360 degree bar, and a diverse menu appealing to all palates.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing view fair food and service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Beautiful summer night and excited to celebrate a special family event but ended up with fair food and so so service. My daughters salad was warm, tasted funny and my pricey "hot" scallop dish was cold. The waitress seemed distracted and kept forgetting things like water and bread...not asking for much, just the basics. After calling ahead to reserve special table and note a special event, the waitress was obviously not filled on that information and never mentioned my son's birthday.Thankfully the view was amazing which made the mediocore experience bearable

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seacoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    122
    72
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
470 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Very good food and nice waterfront setting.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We went on a Thursday evening at 8:00 pm and were surprised at the number of customers. The bar was fairly crowded and a little loud while we had a drink and waited 30 minutes for an outdoor table overlooking the harbor. Unlike some of the other reviews here, we had no problem with the service. Our food was very good, especially the crab and corn chowder and the steak frites, with the steak cooked a perfect medium rare. Definitely try to get an outdoor table here and enjoy the water view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good Food - Gorgeous View - Questionable Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped here for lunch on our way home to CT from a vacation in Boothbay Harbor, ME. My wife had the fried haddock sandwich which was a good size for lunch and cooked to perfection. I had the rare tuna sandwich which was just to my liking. Along with sitting right on the water with a great view of the harbor and Piscatauqua River Bridge in the distance, it was nice way to end our vacation. However, the service was problematic, not from being waited on in a timely manner, but from some of the awkward comments made by our waiter. It made us both feel a bit uncomfortable and somewhat spoiled what could have been a perfect afternoon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rchilone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millville, DE
Level Contributor
215 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“More than a view.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Restaurants that boast about a view are generally mediocre but Martingale Wharf surprised with a view and very good food. We were seated speedily and our waitress took our drink order and got the Bloody Mary orders correct. The fresh oysters were a perfect appetizer and the shrimp and ribs were excellent entrees. Our waitress was a pro and did a great job. We chatted and enjoyed the view and the crisp sunny weather without any pressure to leave.
I would suggest that the restaurant use place mats since eating off weathered wooden tables was a bit uncomfortable although the restaurant was spotless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bankruptcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dissapointing...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are locals (in the summer). Have been for 7 years, Our preference is to dine on the water so we were very excited to try Martingale Wharf which opened late summer '12.

Pros: Great view of Portsmouth Harbor. Faces the bridges. Beautiful at sunset. More outdoor seating by far than the Surf Restaurant (right next door). Nice ambiance. Healthy menu ... gluten free, locally grown produce, grass fed beef, etc. Decent drink / wine menu.

Cons: Before we left for dinner one of our neighbors that we ran into told us that she had heard that the restaurant was just so, so. Turns out that she was right. The food was average at best, the staff was moderately friendly and not all that experienced. Seemed like they took folks that had worked at lower quality restaurants (with lower prices) and hired them for the Wharf. Hard to tell but not the experience you'd expect.

Would recommend that you pass until they "grow up" a little, Has potential due to it's location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nhsoxfan8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Martingale Wharf also viewed

 

Been to Martingale Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing