We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and Fun”

Thirsty Moose Taphouse
Ranked #20 of 204 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
South Berwick, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Unique and Fun”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

8 of us went to the Thirsty Moose in Portsmouth to celebrate our 28th wedding anniversary and because we had real beer lovers visiting for the weekend. The beer selection is vast and the menu is varied. The corned beef ruebens and rueben burgers looked awesome. I recommend the Moose Rolls for an appetizer but there is enough to make it a light lunch. The dining room is kind of industrial but comfortable with plenty of big screen tv's for sports watching. A fun place to check out on a Saturday afternoon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    110
    23
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, ME
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“excellent on-tap selection & good pizza”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stopped by base on the trip advisor reviews for beer and pizza and the place was hopping! A huge selection of beer from around the US and worldwide. Friendly wait staff despite a full house and a great veggie pizza prepared via a brick oven. Will go back to try a different meaty pizza but highly recommend for a good bar/food experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CarlGagnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“100+ beers on tap. Enough said :)”
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Thirsty Moose was on our bar hopping list - first stop and now I wish we would have made it our only stop! Amazing selection of beer. Went to Portsmouth brewery and Coat of Arms, also fun bars but no one can top the beer selection at Thirsty Moose. If you go you must try Shipyards Smashed Pumpkin with the sugar and cinnamon rimmed glass. It's AMAZING!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strafford, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible Service, Rude Staff”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I went to the Thirsty Moose with a large group of co-workers. We had planned to get drinks and appetizers, however, each time we ordered something, it wasn't delivered. It felt as though the staff didn't want our business, they were all equally rude and unhelpful. I explained the issue to the bouncer, who also claimed to be the owner. I told him that I would not be back to the establishment, based on this negative experience. He said "good."
There are tons of great bars and restaurants to choose from in Portsmouth, don't waste your time with this one.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank april1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Average at best but impressive beer list”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

The Thirsty Moose is nothing but anxiety. It is often uncomfortably crowded (especially one weekends and game nights, obviously). I have been therr many, many time since we're locals and we know one of the waitresses but aside from her they are super unpleasant. Ordering a beer is an ordeal and I have to count on both hands the number of times I have had to ask for my drink two or three times. The hassle is not enough to make the 100+ beers on tap worth it.

The food is bar food, some worse. However, I am fond of their Buffalo Chicken dip and their homemade drink Moose Juice is quite good. But really, I would pick other places over "the Moose" evey time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeacoastSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thirsty Moose Taphouse also viewed

 

Been to Thirsty Moose Taphouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing