We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Innovative food”
Review of Moxy

Moxy
Ranked #14 of 202 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Moxy; Self-possessed confidence. An attitude of fearlessness in everyday circumstances. The capacity to stand alone in favor of an unpopular opinion or course of action with a casual demeanor. Moxy is a modern American tapas restaurant focusing on smaller plates meant for sharing and taking our inspiration from our local farmers, culture and history. Moxy is tapas in spirit, energy, style of din
Level Contributor
121 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Innovative food”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

Everything we had was excellent, especially the duck meatballs and the pork belly. Chicken thighs with
cilantro and spicy sauce, also very good. The whoopiepies for dessert were amazing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank rountreec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    68
    30
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Underhill, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Excellent service at the bar with local beers and well prepared cocktails. Food tasty and timed perfectly for a relaxed evening.

Helpful?
Thank djhedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A few standouts.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We happen to be in Portsmouth for their restaurant week and made a reservation to taste our way through Moxy's menu. The seating was a bit to close for comfort and the food offerings were average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OntheRoad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A must stop when in Portsmouth!”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Over the last few months we have been to Moxy 5 times and we live in Vermont! This restaurant has great food, a cool vibe and easy atmosphere, behind that you can tell there is a lot of hard work that goes into pulling that off. They seem to have a strong commitment to local farms and American distilleries. The service has been excellent, not always perfect, but close. You can tell there is a lot of love that goes into the presentation and flavors of the food. The burger sliders and the pork belly bites are our favorites; the flavors seem to burst in your mouth! We also enjoy the "misty knolls pan seared chicken thighs". And if you are wanting something sweet, must try the whoopi pie! The menu can change, so a must if it is on the menu.
Just like the food, a lot of care goes into the making of the drinks. We enjoy seeing the bartender take the time and effort to put a craft beverage together.
We also enjoy seeing the same faces each time we go in.
This place is great for couples, adventurous families and groups of friends.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HartNSt0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Consistently delicious & creative”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

I try to visit this restaurant every time I am in Portsmouth. It's such a cool & cozy restaurant...while you might describe it as small, I love the intimate feel. I never feel as if I am on top of others. The menu is consistently unique and delicious, so much so, that it's hard to select just three items for dinner. We decided to go with their sampler menu - four savory items and a dessert. I loved each "dish"! The chef combined flavors that I wouldn't even think of. Everything was super fresh and left your mouth dancing with joy. The best part was that I got to sample a lot of wonderful food and came away feeling satisfied, not stuffed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveler09_10_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxy also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Moxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing