We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love. This. Place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moxy

Moxy
Ranked #15 of 201 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Moxy; Self-possessed confidence. An attitude of fearlessness in everyday circumstances. The capacity to stand alone in favor of an unpopular opinion or course of action with a casual demeanor. Moxy is a modern American tapas restaurant focusing on smaller plates meant for sharing and taking our inspiration from our local farmers, culture and history. Moxy is tapas in spirit, energy, style of din
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love. This. Place.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I stumbled in on a Saturday afternoon while walking downtown Portsmouth. We sat at the bar for a few drinks and enjoyed chatting with the bartenders. They were very knowledgeable of the local spirits the bar pours. After reviewing the menu, we decided to come back later that night for dinner. The restaurant was packed, so again we sat at the bar. Service was expectional. The food was tremendous. The ambiance was delightful. We look forward to visting again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica060708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    67
    30
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
181 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Creative Fare At Hard To Beat Prices”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We saddled up to the bar at Moxy to survey the menu and enjoy a couple of the local craft brewed beers on tap. The vast array of tapas held great appeal due to their vast diversity.

The bartender suggested we consider "The Fab Five." These were five of their popular dishes. It seemed simple: they had done all of the decision making. We also elected to go with the drink pairings as well.

To begin: grilled summer nectarines paired with a sherry cocktail.

Followed by a tasting of clams, pork belly and short ribs. Paired nicely with a brown ale.

Up next was pan seared monkfish in a charred vegetable coulis for one of us while brown sugared pork shoulder wrapped in cornmeal pancakes was the other choice. These were complemented by a pinot gris for the fish and a napa valley red for the pork.

Finishing off proceedings we had a whoopie pie slider and indian pudding placed in front of us. What better way to end than with a oloroso sherry?

Throughout the meal, the bartender serving us was cordial, knowledgeable and generous with his pours.

Atmosphere is fairly low key, music is loungey and the bar scene is active.

Now for the good news: Five courses were 29.95 per person with the wine and beer pairings an additional $20. A meal of high quality, creative preparation and ambient surroundings for just $49.95.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
281 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Wonderful mix of flavors - a must try”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I love the atmosphere of this place - it's small, but plenty of space around the tables so you don't feel like the people next to you are sitting with you. We ordered The Fab Five menu which consists of five courses including dessert. This is a great way to get to know the variety of tapas they serve. We also ordered the wine/beer/cider paring (for $20) which features a different drink for each course. It started with a sherry cocktail - I'm not a sherry fan, but this was actually pleasing and went well with the first tapas; grilled summer nectarines. Next came lacquered porkbelly bites, fried clam, johnny cake with pork shoulder, chicken with sriracha and creme fraiche in lettuce wraps and short ribs which were ALL excellent. Two desserts were included in the last course: a dark chocolate whoopie pie and Indian pudding. So good. The service was excellent with the courses spaced out perfectly. The music could be better, but overall, everything was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2dtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great dishes! Unique combinations!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you want unique dishes that have interesting creative combinations, small tapas size portions, then, this is the place to go! If you are hungry and with family, you need to order quite a number of dishes to get filled! So, yes great food but too expensive for the portions!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlessedPerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
237 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Tapas that tasted as good as it looked!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The owner is the former chef of Wentworth by the Sea. Great place to go for glass of wine and creative, delicious tapas. On the expensive side but it was an eclectic dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moxy also viewed

Portsmouth, NH
Portsmouth, NH
 
Portsmouth, NH
 

Been to Moxy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing