We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the right price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House

Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House
Ranked #9 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live music, tours, beer samples and food are offered at this large brewery and pub that started with the first wave of American microbreweries and is now a celebrated name.
Portsmouth, NH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just the right price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Redhook brewery is a fun place to grab a quick bite and drink a great beer on tap. It has a clean friendly atmosphere and is affordable. The menu seems to be ever-changing but it has your typical pub fare. The locally brewed beer is superb and the tour (which is only $1) is very fun. You don't have to make a reservation and tours go all day. The tour guide is as ecclectic as the beer itself. Definitely worth experiencing.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank FreeRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    21
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Putnam, Connecticut
Level Contributor
104 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great tour, beer, & food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

The tour is only a hour long & only costs $1! The tour guide was great, really funny and made the tour a good time. & the beer was awesome! I'm not a big fan of beer, but I actually liked it! We ended up going to the pub afterwards to avoid the traffic and I'm glad we did. We had the Jamaican jerk chicken strips which were amazing! & they have two beers in the pub that can only be found at that pub from Redhook.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank brandy06241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$1 tour priced right - only because of samples”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The tour guide was almost annoying and boring at the same time. Nothing was running during the tour when we went so there really wasn't much to see. Might have been better with a different guide. Would neither recommend for nor against.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Noisy beer, but fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Redhook is a favorite. This is the home of the Redhook brewery and the beer is fresh and frothy and just superb. It's a pub. This means a noisy background, lots of laughter, frequent music, rowdy friends, decent food, and a cheap tab. It's a great place to meet with friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good place for food and beer!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We didn't have time for the tour but we'll return. Stopped in on our way home for lunch. Food was very good, waitstaff were excellent and they have a nice assortment of beers!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJMinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House also viewed

 

Been to Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing