We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“$1 tour priced right - only because of samples”

Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House
Ranked #9 of 66 things to do in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Live music, tours, beer samples and food are offered at this large brewery and pub that started with the first wave of American microbreweries and is now a celebrated name.
Amherst, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“$1 tour priced right - only because of samples”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The tour guide was almost annoying and boring at the same time. Nothing was running during the tour when we went so there really wasn't much to see. Might have been better with a different guide. Would neither recommend for nor against.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank JS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    45
    21
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White River Junction, Vermont
Level Contributor
140 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Noisy beer, but fun!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Redhook is a favorite. This is the home of the Redhook brewery and the beer is fresh and frothy and just superb. It's a pub. This means a noisy background, lots of laughter, frequent music, rowdy friends, decent food, and a cheap tab. It's a great place to meet with friends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kalonymos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
134 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good place for food and beer!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We didn't have time for the tour but we'll return. Stopped in on our way home for lunch. Food was very good, waitstaff were excellent and they have a nice assortment of beers!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank PJMinCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were a little disappointed in this tour. We didn't get to see the beer being made and the tour was not at all what I thought it would be...but what can you expect for a dollar?

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank joannakelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Visit to brewery”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although the guide was very nice and personable, he rambled a lot. Since there was no place to sit, it became a very uncomfortable tour. It could have been 20 minutes shorter.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LilyLyons_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House also viewed

 

Been to Redhook Portsmouth Brewery & Cataqua Public House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing