We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway in Coastal NH”
Review of Ale House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ale House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wisconsin
1 review
“Perfect Getaway in Coastal NH”
Reviewed October 27, 2009

We only had one night there, but were able to walk all around town, and had superb dining, shopping, without having to drive. Doug was very hospitable, even helping to chill our champagne!
Parking is a bit of a hassle due to one way streets, but once one is in the parking lot, the stay is well worth it! Great local food and shops!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Woodworker9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    92
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
416
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

We spent a weekend at the Ale House Inn and it was great! Great location- such a close walking distance to anywhere in downtown Portsmouth. Kara at the front desk was extremely helpful. She recommended great places for dining and entertainment! The rooms were nice and the beds very comfortable. We're definitely planning to go back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GranTarista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2009

I had to travel to Portsmouth for a conference at the Pease Intl. Tradeport over 3 days. I flew into Manchester the day before the conference began and checked into the Ale House Inn that night. The staff greeted me with great enthusiasm and showed me to my room. The room had an air of modern-taste while still realizing that it was located in an old storage building for Portsmouth Brewing Co. (according to the receptionist, the walls are 18" thick brick). While the inn offered no provisions for a prepared meal, I loved venturing out into Portsmouth, with the aid of directions and suggestions of the staff, and found myself inexpensive, yet wonderfully filling meals all within walking distance of the inn. The inn is located a stone's throw away from Portsmouth Harbor and on my last's nights stay, I took a lighthouse cruise on a locally-operated ship at dusk. I would highly recommend the inn to anyone visiting Portsmouth for business or pleasure. While the rates are slightly above other local competitors and major chains, it is well worth the few extra dollars.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luv2TravlNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
358 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Ale House Inn is very well located, and presents a more unique style of accommodation than so many US inns. The rooms are extremely well appointed, and the decor is stylish. Our host, Doug, couldn't have been more helpful - giving us tips about what to see and where to go in Portsmouth and environs. In addition he very promptly dispatched some important items which we left behind inadvertently!

Only two minor downsides - (1) the front steps are very steep and a bit difficult to manage with heavy bags and (2) no breakfast is served at the inn.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SydneyTeviot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashua,NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The keurig coffee makers were amazing, the inn keeper helped me find hot spots in the area and made great restaurant recommendations...she was also very cute! The beds were very clean and i could smell the fresh linen in the room when i walked in. The beds were very comfortable and was definitely one the best nights sleep ive had in a long time. Would recommend this hotel to everyone! I am definitely coming back!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesdissent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2009

On our tour of New England this was the best night's stay out of 10! The inn keeper was gracious and incredibly helpful in suggesting places to go in Portsmouth. The decor was so charming I took pictures. Anyone looking for friendly, clean, stylish lodging at a fair rate need look no further! Ale House Inn will see us again, that's for sure!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glsbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2009

We spent one night at The Ale House Inn and had a wonderful time in Portsmouth. The hotel location is great, easy walk to all the attractions in town. The owner was wonderful, gave us excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do around town. The room was very nicely decorated and the bed was so comfortable we asked for the brand to buy one for home. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
485 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ale House Inn

Property: Ale House Inn
Address: 121 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ale House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former brewery on historic Bow Street, the Ale House Inn is Portsmouth's urban inn. 10 guest rooms appointed with 32" flat panel televisions, iPod docking stations, Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators, free WiFi and private baths. Please note: we are not a Bed and Breakfast, as we do not serve food at our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Ale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ale House Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing