We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ale House Inn-Excellent Inn/Great Location”
Review of Ale House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ale House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beacon Falls, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ale House Inn-Excellent Inn/Great Location”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Ale House Inn in Portsmouth. A family member recommended this Inn to us and we were not disappointed. Can't say enough about the location. There are so many shops, parks and restaurants in walking distance that you can park your car (for free!) and not require it for your stay. The amenities included two complimentary local brews, in-room ipad, bottled water, a Keurig coffeemaker (that alone made my stay!), Aveda toiletries, and snacks/fruit available in the cozy common room. The fridge's freezer even had ice all ready for our use; we also made good use of the umbrella provided in the room since we unfortunately hit a rainy spell. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable which is always pleasant to encounter when visiting a new place . Kelsey, who was on the desk during our stay, was friendly as well as efficient and seemed desirous of making our stay a memorable one. We would (and will) return to this Inn in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    91
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
405
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Rhode Island
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Portsmouth is New Hampshire without the hiking boots; the city has reclaimed its ancient maritime roots on and around the Piscataqua River. You can cruise that river by boat, gaze at it from Prescott Park, or eat what it offers—Portsmouth has a lot of restaurants and they are great. The best place to stay when you do any of this is the Ale House Inn, on Bow Street. Yes, the Ale House began life as a waterfront beer warehouse, and the hotel embraces that proletarian past, offering period design motifs throughout. For all the retro, though, the room accommodations are comfortable and technologically savvy—you get your own iPad. But it’s where you are—the Ale House location—that clinches this deal. The Ale House Inn is in the heart of downtown, within a five-minute walk, a stone’s throw, from Market Square and any of the city’s publicized attractions. Maybe, though, you discover that the Pulitzer Prize-winning historian Joseph Ellis is in town that night speaking at Portsmouth’s Music Hall. A stroll down the street and you’re edified by Ellis on the American Revolution as you discover a gloriously reappointed theater space. Neither of these things were why you went to Portsmouth, but each was at your doorstep. And the next morning, out for a walk in another direction, you arrive at a gundalow. It’s a boat, a nineteenth-century river sailing barge, and the lone surviving specimen is docked at Prescott Park. A little way off is the Prescott Park Garden, perfect in the cool of the morning. The Ale House Inn is in the middle of all of this. This is where you want to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Walker R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Four of us spent two nights here recently. While the building that houses the Ale House is historic, the rooms are quite modern in the best sense of the word. Though not large, I had the sense that a lot of care was taken in choosing high quality and stylish products -- linens, furniture, electronics.
We enjoyed free tix to the Rep Company that is also housed in the building which had an amazing production of Sweeney Todd. Besides the tix, bottles of craft beer and water were available, as well as fruit and snacks in the living room area -- all for free. There is also a frig in the room which proved very handy.
Chris, who was on duty the whole time we were there, was really the hidden gem. He was amazingly helpful in terms of recommendations for restaurants -- even changing and making ones for us. He made sure the rooms were in excellent condition, even ironing the towels!
My one regret was that on the beautiful summer days we were there, there was no outdoor space to enjoy the weather.
Our entire party concurred that we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank felice243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We are seasoned BnB users. This Motel 6 should not be in that classification at all, because there is no breakfast whatsoever. Positives: clean, friendly service, good placement in city, parking in its downtown locale, iPad to show where to go/what to do, excellent bed, great environment for younger people. Negatives: Bare bones essentials, tiny bath/toilet area, separate sink, tiny room, tiny window, cheap decor, poor lighting. Felt like we were in a nice hostel with private room and bath. Hostels are not $200/nite. Over an ale house (thus the name). We have stayed in Select Registry BnBs as well as nice hotels that were not as expensive and offered so much more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deffntish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortAle, Owner at Ale House Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hello deffntish,

We were disappointed to read you had such an unhappy stay with us. It is unfortunate that you did not raise your concerns after checking into your room. We would have been more than happy to re-locate you to another hotel in town and apply your deposit to that property. While you did pay a rate of $194/night to stay with us, after some research, we found that the chains hotels in downtown during the two nights you stayed with us ranged from $259 - $349 night. Our pricing for the historic downtown area of Portsmouth is on par, if not less than our hotel competitors.

As we state clearly on our website, we are not a BnB. We never state we serve food or breakfast at our property. Within 5 blocks of our location, you will find nearly 65 restaurants. By law, one cannot call yourself a hotel unless you have a 24/7 front desk. This is why we are called an Inn and not a hotel, or, a Bed and Breakfast as you suggest.

Comparing us to a hostel and a Motel 6 is surprising. You will NOT RECEIVE the following at a Motel 6:
- In-Room iPad.
- 32" flat panel TV.
- Refrigerator/Freezer unit.
- In-Room Keurig Coffee maker.
- Free WiFi.
- Lighting by Jonathan Adler.
- Bedding by Dwell Studios.
- a stay in a historic 130 year old brewery warehouse.
- Personal guest service ratio of 1:10 guest rooms.

Additionally, you will need to drive 3.9 miles from the Portsmouth, NH Motel 6 to reach our location in downtown. Guests who stay with us can park their car with us free of charge, and walk to all the shops, restaurants, historic sites, and waterfront. You must drive 8 miles round trip each time you want to go to the waterfront, shop at independent boutiques, visit a historic site, or dine at one of our award winning restaurants.

It's clear you enjoyed Portsmouth from your reviews of other businesses you patronized within walking distance of our property. We recommend you select a full service hotel for your future stay, and consider speaking up when you displeased by a hostel, BnB, inn, hotel or Motel 6 of your choosing.

Again, accept our apologies for not living up to your expectations.

Doug
Ale House Inn, owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

If the price was slightly lower this would get five stars from me. This is such a well put together, lovely place to stay. The contrast of the older brick building next to a theater with updated spotless rooms featuring modern day decor and technology (iPads in each room).

The location was great. Loved the vibe of this place - owners were helpful. All in all a good experience!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abkm3379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Rondout, NY
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We walked into our room, and there it was - an ipad for us to use free of charge. I watched Madmen for free via the Netflix app and checked out the restaurants in Portsmouth. The room was a bit small, but very comfortable with very nice furniture, coffee maker, fridge, etc.. The windows opened and our car, parked for free, was at all times accessible. Beats the hotel hands down. The price was reasonable, lower than the stuffy hotel. When we arrived, the hostess gave us two bottles of Brown Dog Ale. Fantastic stuff. Located on the beautiful harbor, the Ale House is within easy walking distance to everything worth visiting in Portsmouth, and there's a lot worth visiting. If you haven't stayed at the Ale House, you haven't lived.

Room Tip: Number 6 is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellsworth ME
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a 10 room boutique hotel in the heart of downtown Portsmouth, NH. Because it's on the second floor of a building, the outside noise is cut down and because it's small it's very quiet. Decor and amenities in guest rooms are well thought out and staff is friendly. We enjoyed the free ale, snacks and fruit.
We were next to the Pisquataqua Riverfront and there were several lovely parks within walking distance. On the first floor of the hotel location is a rep theater and there are many restaurants nearby. Can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happymaineaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ale House Inn

Property: Ale House Inn
Address: 121 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ale House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former brewery on historic Bow Street, the Ale House Inn is Portsmouth's urban inn. 10 guest rooms appointed with 32" flat panel televisions, iPod docking stations, Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators, free WiFi and private baths. Please note: we are not a Bed and Breakfast, as we do not serve food at our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Ale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ale House Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing