We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attention to Detail in Every Room”
Review of Ale House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ale House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yorba Linda, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Attention to Detail in Every Room”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I recently traveled to Portsmouth and were delighted with our accomodations at the Ale House. In addition to comfortable beds and pillows, every room contains a 32" flat screen TV, Keurig coffeemaker, and Ipad with info. on restaurants, activities, night life, and so forth in Portsmouth. Additionally, we were offered our choice of a locally produced bottle of beer upon our arrival. We had a great experience and would highly recommend The Ale House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shanley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    91
    23
    5
    1
See reviews for
27
405
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We love Portsmouth, go often, and have stayed in many comfortable places in the past. The Ale House trumps them all. First and foremost for us, the beds really are beyond comfortable, the lush feather toppers are fabulous. But the whole experience was just what we hoped for. The Inn greets you with great style and great ambiance. Its look is very modern with clean lines, no clutter, room ipads, but the ambiance is warm and user-friendly with perfect snacks, bikes, great tips, (loved! Colby's for breakfast) thanks, Scott!
Most of all, Portsmouth is best enjoyed on foot, and no matter where you go downtown, shopping, restaurants, cruises, you can come back to the Inn to drop off purchases, change your clothes, or just use the bathroom without even going out of your way. What a luxury! Some anniversary we'll splurge and book that amazing King Suite with the phenomenal views....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Francine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Reading, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is hard to explain Ale House Inn. All I can say is that I will be going back there again soon. I really liked it. Scott was so helpful. I took all his suggestions very seriously for places to eat and he knows his food!!! It is clean and comfortable. Customer comes first at Ale House Inn and they make sure that you do not leave unhappy. A wonderful place to consider on your next trip to Portsmouth, NH.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Layla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great communication from booking to check in. The location of the Ale House Inn is a dream in the beautiful small town of Portsmouth. You can walk everywhere easily and there are lots of interesting shops, in a beautifully maintained New England environment. Great restaurants, cafes and bars are plentiful...... But when you are weary and need to head back, the Ale House Inn ticks all of the boxes. Beautiful rooms, with everything thought of, tea and coffee making facilities, Aveda toiletries, a fridge and water supplied. An in room I-pad preloaded with local tour ideas, bars and restaurant links was a great help! In addition a comfy lounge with snacks and fresh fruit, a PC if you needed it and bikes available to borrow just show that this is no ordinary Inn. Truly a place to try if in Portsmouth, you won't be disappointed in fact you'll be very glad that you did!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blondehairrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Ale House Inn staff was laid back (my partner and I accepted bottles of Smuttynose upon checking in); thoughtful (they offered toothbrushes and toothpaste when we realized we had left ours home); gracious (they suggested places to eat and drink, all within a brilliantly short walk of the Inn).  

The Inn's website photos of the beautiful, relaxed lobby were accurate.  We helped ourselves to snacks (apples, bananas, crackers) and water during our comings and goings.  

Our room was small, cozy, exceptionally well-appointed, and the opposite of fussy.  The towels were plush.  The bath products, all AVEDA. Hooray. Seriously.  

As a born-and-raised New Englander who hasn't lived there in twenty years, I have an irrational mix of strong opinions about what a trip home should include in the fall (local beer, movies, good food, walks on the beach).  I've even stronger feelings about homebase requirements for any digs that aren't my mum's house: immaculate, downtown, deliberate in design, easy.  The Ale House Inn delivered on all counts.  
  

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 012345km
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I crashed here to check out downtown Portsmouth. Doug was great, giving us some tips. The check in was super easy. Room was ready. Yes the room is on the small side but I was there to sleep and relax. Room was clean. The only thing which is nitpicking was the bath was small and there was hair on the wall from people blow drying their hair. the bath had updated fixtures and was very modern. Cool to have the ipad. I had the fridge stocked with beer, which was nice and cold. Overall I was very pleased.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlenelovesmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stumbled across the Ale House Inn quite by accident while on our motorcycle tour of New England. We always like to stay "in town" whenever possible so we can walk to restaurants, etc., and give our often weary behinds a break. I absolutely cannot say enough positive things about the Ale House Inn. Just blocks from downtown, we could stroll, get something to eat, have a few drinks and stroll back. The rooms are ..... just what I would want in my home. Slept wonderfully. Beautiful decor, comfortable bed, lovely granite. Very environmentally conscioius. Rooms are appointed with a flat screen TV and an I-Pad for guest use as well as a more than ample refridgerator complete with water and a Kuerig coffee maker. Thoughtful touches such as the fan (for those of us of 'a certain age') and umbrella are provided. For those staying longer, the bikes available to guests and most importantly the survival guide are unique and much appreciated. Great snacks are provided - I especially liked the fruit selection. The "lobby" area is comfortable and I truly enjoyed relaxing and reading through all the journal entries about the Inn. Truly felt like I was staying a friends home, not a hotel/inn. Thanks especially to Shannon who spent time with me in the early a.m. while I was buzzing from the coffee - poor dear. I so look forward to returning to The Ale House Inn and spending more time in Portsmouth, NH.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystal W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ale House Inn

Property: Ale House Inn
Address: 121 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ale House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former brewery on historic Bow Street, the Ale House Inn is Portsmouth's urban inn. 10 guest rooms appointed with 32" flat panel televisions, iPod docking stations, Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators, free WiFi and private baths. Please note: we are not a Bed and Breakfast, as we do not serve food at our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Ale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ale House Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing