We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really trendy boutique Inn and spotlessly clean”
Review of Ale House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ale House Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Portsmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A really trendy boutique Inn and spotlessly clean”
Reviewed June 17, 2011

From the outside this doesn't look like your normal Inn and once inside it isn't run of the mill either - it's a really trendy boutique hotel with lots of special little touches - like an ipad in the room - really handy for checking out everything in the local area. The room was spotlessly clean. They'd thought of everything - there was even an umbrella in the room to help deal with a rainy day in Portsmouth. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable. We would definitely recommend the Ale House Inn and would stay again if we return to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussypersonEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    432
    91
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
27
415
38
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My husband and I kicked off our first vacation alone since we had our baby with a night at the Ale House Inn in Portsmouth. We were on our way to the mountains of Maine and found Portsmouth to be the perfect location to break up the drive. We were greeted by the Inn Keeper, Doug, with two ice cold beers to enjoy while we unpacked - and Smutty Nose (a local microbrew) beers at that!! He gave us several recommendations for restaurants - and marked a map with all of the "must see" spots before we went out for the night.

It was cozy (only 10 rooms) yet modern and trendy. Our room was so up to date that in included a complimentary ipad!! The decor was fabulous (will post pics), the bed was SO comfortable and I felt like I was at a spa while I was showering in the morning with the complimentary AVEDA products.

I have not one complaint about the Ale House Inn!! Would definitely love to return for a longer stay in Portsmouth.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kariyyy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

A spectacular town and a perfect inn. We were greeted with a couple of local beers and were offered a bigger room, but decided to keep our original room with a view of the town. Every room has an ipad to use, with apps for local restaurants and bars. The recommended spots for food and entertainment were right on the money. Wish we stayed another night. Portsmouth is a must visit town when traveling the east coast and the Ale House is the place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mollysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Inn is super in every aspect. The design and fit out is really clever and interesting. The comfort factor is huge! Great beds, couches, tv, small number of rooms. The location is perfect for convenience and fun. The added features are the real treat though... free iPad in your room, free bikes to ride around town, free snacks in the lounge! And the service, attentiveness and advice from our hosts was much appreciated. You cant eat in the hotel, but that is fine because you are surrounded by great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Lam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

From the moment we arrived - we liked the feel of the Inn - and it just got better.
Before we even headed out for our get-away weekend we received word from the Inn alerting us that several town events were taking place in this very popular seaport town and that parking accommodations had been arranged. Very considerate and much appreciated.

We had arrived early as suggested. Service was perfect from the moment we arrived until we left.

The room, which was the only one available when we booked, was perfect in every aspect - we loved the decor and all the amenities.

The in-town location is the best. Walking distance to everything - once we parked the car we didn't use it again until our return home.

We loved Portsmouth - everyone was so nice - lots of energy - great dining and shopping. Especially loved the many wonderful clothes boutiques - what a find!

We can't wait to return - hopefully it will be sunny - we had rain our entire stay -
that's one thing the Ale house can't control - but I'm sure they would if they could!!

Thanks again, Scott - hope to see you soon.

Valerie and Ron Giorgione
Stoneham, MA

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - but book early!!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank busygirl51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

An impromptu stayover in Portsmouth brought us to the Ale House, recommended by the local tourism volunteer. It's one of the best-equipped rooms we've been in - an IPAD, WiFi, Keurig coffeemaker, flat-screen TV, and lots of small touches of class everywhere. Best of all is it's perfectly central location plus free parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gene0771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic Beach, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My new fiance and I stayed at the Ale House Inn for a night while on a trip to rediscover his childhood home in New England, and we were absolutely thrilled. The property was quiet, beautifully appointed, and had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in--the sheets are going straight to our wedding registry! We opted for a few add-ons, choosing the 12-pack of Smuttynose beer in our in-room fridge and a tray of gourmet cupcakes in our room upon arrival (both very reasonably priced). My fiance was thrilled to see that, and both were delicious! Parking was a breeze, and restaurants and shopping were within walking distance, and Doug was very helpful in assisting our choices. He made some wonderful recommendations! They were also great about allowing us to check in an hour early when our travel time was less than anticipated. I've already decreed that every time we visit my fiance's mom in New Hampshire, we'll have to spend a night at the Ale House Inn! Speaking of fiances, I mentioned we had just gotten engaged and Doug remembered that fact on more than one occasion. It was very thoughtful. Oh, and as a bonus, after a wonderful post-checkout lunch at The Friendly Toast (walking distance, of course!), I found my wedding dress in a cute little boutique...and got a 90% off discount! We loved our stay in Portsmouth, and the Ale House Inn made it very memorable. We'll definitely be back.

*The only thing I can think of that was in any way lacking (and this is TINY) is that there was no in-room body lotion, although there were wonderful Aveda bath products. It wasn't a big deal for me this time, as we drove and I didn't have to worry about packing liquids within TSA guidelines, but it's something to remember if you're flying.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjveach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portsmouth
0.4 mi away
The Hotel Portsmouth
The Hotel Portsmouth
#1 of 17 in Portsmouth
478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Portsmouth Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Portsmouth Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sheraton Portsmouth Harborside Hotel
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Portsmouth Downtown/Waterfront
1.9 mi away
Wentworth by the Sea, A Marriott Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ale House Inn

Property: Ale House Inn
Address: 121 Bow St, Portsmouth, NH 03801-3854
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Portsmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Ale House Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a former brewery on historic Bow Street, the Ale House Inn is Portsmouth's urban inn. 10 guest rooms appointed with 32" flat panel televisions, iPod docking stations, Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators, free WiFi and private baths. Please note: we are not a Bed and Breakfast, as we do not serve food at our property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Ale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ale House Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing